1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Condensation on inside of hopper lid?

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by Lucerry, Nov 29, 2012.

  1. Delta-T

    Delta-T Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,096
    Loc:
    NH
    the one kind of bunny that isn't cute and cuddly.....sneaky sneaky.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. Lucerry

    Lucerry New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Loc:
    Central Maine
    Yes! And I am finding a LOT of dust bunnies. (Three cats and 1 dog will do that quick). I've been in there with a wire brush, some small paintbrushes, etc. I cleaned a lot of crap out of the distribution fan.

    For my next question in the process: how do I take the exterior cover off the upper part of the back of the stove? This is the piece about the "rear insulated sheets", and for the life of me I can't figure out how to get that off! I can see a bunch of dust in there that I want to get out!
  3. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,124
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Vacuum nozzle or compressed air.

    Does the fan actually turn?
  4. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,124
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    You only want to clean the squirrel cage out along with the blowers cooling fan blades and motor. Should not need to remove anything since the room blower has to be open to get air to send through the plumbing.

    Ain't pets wonderful?

    I never find cat fur in mine and I have an old grey tom cat.
  5. Lucerry

    Lucerry New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Loc:
    Central Maine
    Are you saying I can't get that piece off?

    The fan turns on its own, yes.
  6. heat seeker

    heat seeker Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,977
    Loc:
    Northern CT
    I remember core memory, and when 2K was a lot of memory. Just dating myself, I guess. Call me a dinosaur. I worked on DEC PDP8s back when.

    Back to the thread now.
    SmokeyTheBear likes this.
  7. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,124
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    No just that you shouldn't remove it and should not need to.

    Playing with insulation on a stove is as bad as playing directly with the fire using bare hands.

    One slip and the stove needs to see a real stove doctor. That is part of the protection against bad things happening and allowing the clearances to combustibles to be significantly less than that of a wood stove.

    ETA: The last party that was working on a vintage pellet stove that did remove insulation wound up burning up his controller, and his blower motors. He was warned not to fire the stove up without putting the insulation back . Oops.
  8. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,124
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    I worked on a PDP 8i that was the controller for a Periphonics Audio Response System and CRT based Proof Of Deposit Repair system. The PDP 8i was exactly like an IBM2400 series tape drive on the computer system.

    Many old 'saurs and I were friends.
  9. SteveB

    SteveB Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    173
    Loc:
    South Central PA.
    Off the thread a little longer, I remember core memory, 8" floppys, mag tape drives, a PDP that booted from paper tape (took a very long time). Worked on PDP-8s, 11/23 Q-bus and 11/44 UniBus machines. Decnet, etc. Was at DECs headquarters once. Used a couple VAXs but never worked on one.

    Sorry, now back to our regularly-scheduled program.....
    SmokeyTheBear likes this.
  10. Lucerry

    Lucerry New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Loc:
    Central Maine
    Well. This is something I apparently have never cleaned before! Took me forever to get to it! I'm not sure that this was causing all my problems, but I imagine it certainly wasn't helping things!

    Attached Files:

  11. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,124
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Eventually it would cause problems.

    Now you know why we harp on cleaning, and more cleaning, and even more cleaning.

    Dust may protect the furniture but any of it, ash, or other stuff inside a pellet eater is not gonna help at all.
  12. heat seeker

    heat seeker Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,977
    Loc:
    Northern CT
    My stove doesn't have a place for fines to collect. How do the fines get in these places? Through the auger bearing, or what?
  13. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,124
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Different feed system, this is actually a good thing provided you know about it and the need to clean it, but you know that is in the manual (that paper thingy with pages of words, that no one seems to ever read).
    heat seeker and mralias like this.
  14. MCPO

    MCPO Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,219
    Loc:
    western Ma , close to NY state border
    I would not feel right about the stove untill I pulled the auger and inspected the tube right up into the hopper for evidence of a gummy buildup .It`s really a simple procedure.
  15. zrtmatos

    zrtmatos Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    232
    Loc:
    Connecticut
    I just picked up a used Accentra from 2006. What is this a picture of? I want to make sure mine is not full of this! :eek:

    Does anyone know? ;?
  16. kykel

    kykel Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    410
    Loc:
    long Island
    Its more fun getting the info here. Who wants to read a paper thingy that doesnt even talk back to you.:)
  17. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,124
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Well since you folks are playing with fire it would be in your best interest to read the manual, but then again I might be wrong.

    Lets see we have raw, lukewarm, warm, quite warm, medium done, well done , and burnt to a crisp. Your choice you are running your dragon, not I.
  18. rickwai

    rickwai Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Messages:
    288
    Loc:
    ohio
    Where your control panel folds into the stove there is a rocker switch that says hi/lo. That is for dist. fan. Is your switch set on low? No need to remove esp probe to clean. You can see it in exhaust tunnel from inside stove just brush it off when you clean tunnel out w/ your vent brush. It dont need pulled and cleaned w/ alcohol or paper towel, it is a temperature sensor. If it has a thin discoloring on it, that will not affect its function.
  19. Lousyweather

    Lousyweather Guest

    this rocker was in place for a few years- a couple years ago, Harman did away with the hi/lo rocker switch. Dont panic if you dont have one.
  20. Lucerry

    Lucerry New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Loc:
    Central Maine
    There is a hi lo switch, which has always been set to hi.

    This is so perplexing. Stove starts up fine, fire is hot and healthy looking, auger appears to be working fine, etc. And there are no status lights blinking or anything on t he control panel. But the distribution blower is not working. I can peer in the bottom while it's on and I can see that it's not turning. Wouldn't there be angry status lights if the stove could sense that it wasn't working?

    Someone else earlier suggested seeing if I could feel the fan blowing when I turned the feeder knob to test, and the answer is NO, I can't feel the fan blowing when it's in test mode.

    Any suggestions?
  21. Lucerry

    Lucerry New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Loc:
    Central Maine
    It's from the feeder chamber. Like I mentioned it took awhile for me to get to it. It's not as simple as it looks on pg 23 of this online manual: http://hearthnhome.com/downloads/installManuals/Accentra.pdf .

    I've owned the stove for 2.5 yrs now and hadn't cleaned it out. Glad I found it, but seems like it will still work for awhile even if you don't get to it all the time!

    (Oh, and I think this stove is from 2005)
  22. Lucerry

    Lucerry New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Loc:
    Central Maine
    No, I don't feel it when it's in test mode. Any thoughts/suggestions?
  23. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,124
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Well it sounds like the distribution blower is out of it.

    Maybe a fuse is blown.

    How are you at disconnecting electrical wires and playing with that wonderful but deadly electricity available at a wall outlet?

    I'll let the Harman folks do the talking.
  24. Lucerry

    Lucerry New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Loc:
    Central Maine
    FIXED!

    Decided to call a hardware store 45 min away with my suspicions. They suggested it was probably the distribution motor/fan, and had a replacement on hand.

    30 min after getting back with it, we have a fire and a healthy sounding distribution fan and a great working stove!

    Thanks for the suggestions.
    SmokeyTheBear likes this.
  25. Bioburner

    Bioburner Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    3,447
    Loc:
    West central Mn
    Have a warm night. Your cheating on the oil company again:)

Share This Page