Considering Regency CL1200 (No Blower Available) Install

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

jblood

Oct 18, 2010
Southern Michigan
I am new to stoves but believe that my house is a fairly cood candide for one. Our House is 1800sq ft ranch with full (unfinished) walkout basement. It is a fairly open floorplan. The kitchen and living area are combined and this is wher most waking hours are spent. Anyway, when the hous was built 7 years ago, we had a majestic factory fireplace instaleld as we preferred natural fires. Needless to say with propane prices, economy etc..., I no longer care for a natural fire in the winter months.

I have identified the Regency CL1200 as the only choice for an insert due to the fact that it fits in the majestic factory fireplace and matches the contemporary style of the home. Also, we are on wooded acreage so access to fuel is not an issue. I estimate that we use approximately 1,100 Gallons of propane/season for heat.

However, I have the following concerns:

1) No blower is available on this unit and the next size up CL 1250 will not fit. I've heard some say a blower is essential. Is it really? I have a cieling fan in the kitchen and a whole house ventilator that exchanges heat and humidity and air returns in the living area. Could these be enough to distribute heat?