Constructing a hearth for our Woodstock Progress Hybrid

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
This is an excerpt from my personal blog. I thought I would post it here in case anyone has any advice or constructive criticism to offer. This is my first time ever building a hearth, so I am really trying to cross all my t's and dot all my i's!

Thanks!

----------------

The first order of business was using a tape measure, pen, and straight edge to figure out clearances and where the legs would stand for the wood stove. Once we had that all marked out, we measured out a wooden frame made of 2×6′s.

We doubled up the supports underneath where the legs will stand on the hearth, then added cross bracing for a bit more stability. Where the cross bracing and doubled 2×6′s meet are where the legs will be. It was pouring outside, so the wood was a bit wet to work with, but I think we did a good job. That thing is SOLID.

Once the frame was built, we got to cutting 5/8″ thick fire-resistant drywall to go around it. At an R rating of 0.49, we needed two layers to get the 0.8 R rating needed beneath the stove. The layer of tile will just be gravy now, since we’ve already exceeded the minimum R value.