Contemplating a second wood stove, seeking advice on building chimney chase

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Eric Miller

Feb 27, 2008
Central MD
I’m new to wood burning, just installed a wood stove this year and I love it. I would like to install a second stove in hopes of heating my entire house with wood (two stories about 3500 sq ft). The new stove would go in my insulated basement at the opposite end of the house from where my current stove sits on the main floor. To do this I need to add a chimney so I am thinking I could build a square chase that runs straight from the basement to the attic and install a Duravent class A chimney in this chaseway. In addition, I would like to construct an air shaft right next to the chimney chase. The chase would measure about 16" square and the air shaft would be about 16 x 20 inches. I am thinking I could use a fan in the air shaft to move warm air from the basement up to two second floor bedrooms where the airshaft would terminate. The cold air returns for my second floor heat pump will be located in these two bedrooms so I’m thinking I could just run the heat pump's blower fan on low to circulate this air around the second floor.

In the end, I'd like to use as little fossil fuel as possible to heat my house. I've considered other alternatives but the wood stove seems to be the most practical …

GeoThermal heatpump - $$$

Wood Furnace - This is a possibility but they appear to be less efficient then a wood stove and emit more pollution. Also, a furnace is not “pretty” like a nice cast iron wood stove.