Cord of wood - Definition please

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

TarmSolo30+Storage

Jan 26, 2008
150km N. of Toronto
I'm new here. Been lurking for a week or so, finally decided to raise my head.
When you guys refer to X cords of wood are you referring to what we call a "bush cord" ie. 4' by 4' by 8' or a "face Cord" ie. 16" by 4' by 8' In other word 3 face cords equals 1 bush cord.
It just seems when I read annual consumptions of "13 Cord" or "20 Cord" it seems HUGE if the unit of measure is a Bush Cord.
BTW, my Tarm is not yet in operation so I have no personal experience on the consumption side of things.

TarmSolo30+Storage said:
I'm new here. Been lurking for a week or so, finally decided to raise my head.
When you guys refer to X cords of wood are you referring to what we call a "bush cord" ie. 4' by 4' by 8' or a "face Cord" ie. 16" by 4' by 8' In other word 3 face cords equals 1 bush cord.
It just seems when I read annual consumptions of "13 Cord" or "20 Cord" it seems HUGE if the unit of measure is a Bush Cord.
BTW, my Tarm is not yet in operation so I have no personal experience on the consumption side of things.

Welcome to the forum and to the boiler room. A cord is 128 cubic feet - 4x4x8. Some folks burn a lot of wood. I think you'll find that most with gasifiers are burning considerably less, although some of us get carried away and keep the house in a sauna-like temperature range and heat the entire outdoors as well, using a greenhouse as a heat exchanger. Some folks are also going through learning curve issues and getting things dialed in.