Cost efective storage, New Econoburn on the way!

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

4hiswork

Apr 4, 2010
Western Kentucky
I have been hanging around for a while, thanks for the tip on the cheap econoburn on Ebay. I have a lot to do, I am a chemical operator by trade, work in Research and Develoment for a mid size chemical company. I am able to purchase very cheap plastic totes, surrounded by metal, about 325 gallons each or one aluminum tote that would hold about 600 to 700 gallons of water. Not able to pressure either one of these, but hoping for ideas on the best way to set up my system. Did I mention I still have to build the pole barn, run the pex...what size, type...this is going to be fun! I really am enjoying researching your posts. Thanks

Welcome, you are starting out with a great boiler! I only know a little about pressure tanks so I can't help you there. Did you get the 100 or 150? Keep us informed, Randy

Be sure to check the temperature rating on the plastic, it might be as low as 120F before it softens, and not a lot higher before something worse might happen. There is high temperature poly, but I don't think even that would be recommended for constant 180F water.

I believe they make polypropylene tanks that can withstand 200+ F but very expensive...