Cover my holz hausen?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

PhatWood

Nov 23, 2014
Connecticut
I built a holz hausen a few months back based on some instructions I saw on Youtube. One of the videos suggested covering the top with a tarp. This is my first year of seasoning the wood with this technique, so I'm not sure how it will turn out. Some say that the wind blows into the center and then acts like a chimney and goes up, so I could see how a tarp could potentially hinder than. That chimney effect sounds very theoretical and bit hard to believe, but I'd like to hear the experience of the more seasoned wood stackers. Cover or no cover? Here's a picture of the stack with my Fiskar x27 and a tire for some perspective. I built it on a hill and it's mostly in the sun with a decent breeze. That's my house up the hill that I need to bring it up next year. Not looking forward to that. Appreciate any tips! IMG_5902.JPG

The umbrella would take care of it.

der holtz.jpg

I top cover any wood stack. No matter how it is stacked. Leaving breathing space under the cover for a holtz would be a good idea.

Personally I think the "chimney effect" claims for holz hausens are bogus. I don't see any confined chimney or force to move the air.
I have made them for other reasons (mostly because they're just cool) and I'd say covering the top it's a tarp would be about the same cost/benefit as for regular stacks.

Been there done that. Holtzs do not season wood any faster than the normal methods of stacking.
They look cool, till they shrink and fall over.

Last edited: