Covered Wood stack thoughts

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

wendortb

Jan 14, 2014
Martinsville, IN
I am new to wood burning. I have 5 acres mostly wooded that I plan on getting firewood from. My neighbor also said I could take downed trees from his land.

It seems like a lot of people css, then when the wood is dry, move it to a wood shed for that winters burning so it doesn't get wet. I don't have a wood shed and don't have much room in the house to keep wood. I could build a wood shed but was thinking about building multiple covered wood stacks so after I stack the wood, I can just grab the wood from the rack. This way I don't need to stack the wood an extra time.

I built a covered wood rack out of 6 - 2x4 ($23), 2 landscape timbers($8), and a sheet metal roof($16). Total cost $47 plus screws. I have some concrete pavers to put the landscape timbers on so it is raised off the ground. This holds 1/3 of a cord. I figure I will need 3 cords per winter and 3 years of wood so 27 of these. This seems pretty expensive considering wood heat is supposed to save me money. Is this why people build wood sheds then leave their stacks uncovered?

Thoughts about the smartest approach would be very helpful.
Wood stack.jpg

Reactions: Backwoods Savage