Craigslist.....Ash just cut but ready to burn

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Jfk4th

Minister of Fire
Feb 8, 2007
NY
http://buffalo.craigslist.org/grd/1535761407.html

Talked to this guy today, He claims his ash, green mind you, is 10% moisture content, hmmmmmm. Now to tell you more he just cut down the living trees this week so I told him 165 is a great price but you really should not be telling people you can burn it today. He said "I have been burning for 20 years and with ash you can burn it right away, this isn't maple you know"....

Well I told him maybe I'll stop by sometime and again 165 is a good price per full cord(good for next year I am thinking)... but if he thinks it is already 10% from a standing living tree damn he must have some magic trees out there :)

Just wanted give fellow Western New Yorkers a heads up on "If the price seems to be good to be true...."

Its possibly 30% green, which will burn. Its probably 10 percentage points higher than optimal which is 20%. Some people gage MC by moisture above seasoned (20%). Like the difference between mark up and margin.
Bring a moisture meter. I have seen ash @25% green. I would be very surprised to see 10%.

gzecc said:
I have seen ash @25% green. I would be very surprised to see 10%.