Crappy Jotul Manual

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

slindo

Mar 14, 2008
Maine
Just picked up an Oslo. After hearing all these years what a great company Jotul is, I was surprised how bad the owner's manual is. As a technical writer I always find it ironic when a company spends millions of dollars making a good product, then sends it out with a lousy manual.

The stove comes with a number of pieces in the firebox which the installer must install. The assembly section covering this is one paragraph long, with no illustrations. It tells you how the ash lips go, but never says what ash lips are so you got to go to the back of the manual, read down the list of parts, then turn to the microscopic schematic to find out what they look like.\.

There's a bag of small parts included, but no explanation of what they are or where they go. A proper manual or packing slip would have pictures and description to identify each part. While the manual tells (in the aforementioned single assembly paragraph) how to put on the flue collar and ash lips it makes no mention of the knobs and attendant hardware which are also in the small parts bag. Back to the microscopic blow up page. OK, the knobs turn out to be pretty straightforward, other than the two washers which are located (if the location shown in the blow up is correct) pretty non-inutitively.