creosote buildup on boiler loading door

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

spartacus912

Mar 15, 2015
usa
I have a tarm solo 60 wood boiler. Why is creosote suddenly building up on the interior of the loading door and surrounding area, sufficient to glue the door shut? I have been using this boiler for approximately six years with no problem. I recently changed the upper ceramic and lower ceramic tunnel. This had no beneficial effect. Wood moisture content is 8 - 10%. The dust was blown out of the blower fan and the chimney is clean. There seems to be a deficit of air flow at the half moon spaces at the top left and right of the door.

I don't know why but I can vouch for the fact that I have seen the same thing with my Tarm Solo Plus 40 over the years. Just assumed it had to do with wood species, even though my wood is dry as well. One think I have found, is if I don't make an effort to 'remove' the hard and crunchy creosote around the interior base and sides of the loading door entry (not the door but the section but the entry that the door covers, this will block any new formation of the sticky stuff at the door gasket edge which unfortunately tends to 'glue' the door shut. at other times no issue at all and all creosote in this area is just crispy at the worst but door easy to open as stuff flakes off. Have also considered it is maybe a function of the split length (nearer door obviously for longer splits) and/or how high I load the firebox. Does seem to be less prevalent when burning small loads. Anyhow, if you figure it out let me know. Good luck.