Creosote

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

wantageNJryan

Oct 29, 2013
wantage nj
Hi everyone....i am new to burning and jumped in head first with a pb105. I have 2800sqft im heating and have plumbed in my unit in series. Ive run about 15bags or so through the unit without a hiccup. I came home last friday from work and found a horribly smelling home!!! My units burn box tarred itself completely over!!!! So after of relentless scrapping and praying for the tar to lossen up i cleaned the entire burn box in about 15hrs!!!!!
So now im trying to understand what i did wrong. I went through my install step by step and came to the conclusion that i ran out of air since my fan was gummed up. I also did not have the low speed fan set correct. So now with all that behind me here are my specs:
-Hammer Hot Ones premium pellets
-185 max with OAT and OAK
-165 min temp
-.87" wc high speed
-.3" wc low speed
-1 right angle flu pipe and about 4'6"' vertical and 2' to outside and end of pipe
-wantage nj 780ft above sea
-low to zero humidity
-avg daily temp over the last week 55*f
-full southern exposure no trees!!!
-cleaning fan burn pot burn box and ash daily now
-burning 2bags a day
-flu pipe spotless no tar just a lil soot powder...

With those specs i still seem to be building a
Stage 3 creosote just on the wall immediately above the burn pot.... Is this normal???? I dont tar up any of the heat exchange pipes. There is powder soot on them and the fan blades daily but nothing close to the tar i fought over the weekend. What am i doing wrong????