Cribbing experts, or anyone, I need help...lol

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Ram 1500 with an axe...

Minister of Fire
Mar 26, 2013
New Jersey
With all this red oak that I have, I am trying to fill an outer wall that will be facing neighbors houses as well as them driving by and seeing it, so I am trying to make this look as nice as possible, I have never built one before on top of it, it will be about a 22 ft wide single row that I will try to get up to 6-8 ft high, definitely putting book ends but possibly putting one in the center, if I can't make the first one on the left look good then I will forgo the others. Also the one on the left needs to be stable as I have kids walking by it all the time. I will be showing you the space that I am going to fill up with 100% red oak, it will not look like it does now in these pics, this wood will be moved out and the plants and weeds will be out and gone, all you will see is red oak in front of a planting bed so please imagine that as you comment, this space should hold 1 3/4 cord when all is done. All this being said, please critic my first cribbing attempt, I can tare it down in minutes and start over, I really want to do this right, if you have pics please post, I thank you all very much.....

image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg

Well, in the last pic, it's leaning to the right. In previous pics, it's leaning to the left.
Put some wood against that, and it''ll likely topple.
The first 6 layers are looking pretty good, then the lean begins....it's fairly obvious.