Crumbling Combuster

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

arty

Dec 13, 2005
Hi everyone- newbie here looking for an answer.
I have a VC Federal Large, and several times in the seven years I have used it, the combuster has crumbled and clogged the baffle plate.
What is causing this?

One of two things:

1. You are putting unseasoned wood in when you reload with the combuster still engaged. The steam coming out of the wood is causing a rapid drop in the temperature of the combuster and causing "thermal shock" which causes it to crumble.

2. You are running to hot of a fire with too much air and flames are getting to the combuster. It is made to burn gases, not have direct contact with flame. It is called "flame impingement".

It isn't unseasoned wood. I dry it for one year stacked outside, then move it inside for the spring and summer, to finish.
I usually run it with the air doors fully open during waking hours, and it consumes 2 or 3 4"x20" logs per hour.
Should I bank it down?

arty said:
It isn't unseasoned wood. I dry it for one year stacked outside, then move it inside for the spring and summer, to finish.
I usually run it with the air doors fully open during waking hours, and it consumes 2 or 3 4"x20" logs per hour.
Should I bank it down?

Yep. Houston, we have found the problem. When the surface temp of the stove gets to 500 degrees damp it down (cut back on the intake air) and let the cat provide the heat.

That stove has got to be getting REALLY hot.

It's also possible to simply overheat your cat. You can use one of these to prevent that, but they're pricey.