current wood stove owner switching to pellets have questions.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

the pony boy

Nov 5, 2011
putnam ny
first off i would like to say this is a great website and have already learned alot of information.

i have been burning wood for 6 years and love the heat it gives off but my poor stove needs some maintenance so i decided to up grade to a pellet stove. looks like im going to use one of the englander stoves, i have a 8' chimney now and i have seen the adapter to connect the pellet stove to the current wood chimney. my question is what type of pipe do i use? and wheres the best place to purchase pipe? thanks phil

Whatever type of pipe you have now, will dictate what type you have to buy. For example, if you have Simpson Dura-Vent tjen you mist buy the Simpson 8" to 3" (or 8" to 4") adapter and then connect it to Simpson Pellet vent.. Brands wont interchange. You must keep it the same.

Welcome to the Forum. What type of Englander? 10-CPM, 25-EP, 25-PDV?

How is your woodstove vented? Is it a straight up shot? Or does it go through a wall horizontally?

What type of Chimney/Vent/Flue do you have now? Selkirk, Simpson, Etc?

im not sure how to tell the brand of the chimney.its double walled i know that and its a straight shot up no bends. im looking at either the pdv or pdvc. i have a small ranch 1100 sq feet. so the bigger stove might not be necessary. i would like to get all the parts in advanced so i dont have to go with out a stove for any period of time. heres a quick pic any help is greatly appreciated. phil

Attachments

• stove.bmp