Damper modification for new SS liner

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

dwatherton

Jan 10, 2010
NW South Carolina
Hi, a newbie here, about to purchase my first wood burning insert. Like many others, I've been researching many models, and learning a lot here on the posts, but can't find the answer to one particular question...I am planning on putting, probably a Jotul 450 into my existing masonry fireplace of my 1960s house, which has seen many, many normal fireplace fires. The old 6"x28" damper plate finally rusted out, leaving the damper frame intact. What I am left with, dead in the middle of the frame where the 6" liner would come down, is the small bracket for the old plate pivot on one side and a larger bracket for the old handle that pushed up and down on the other side. The horizontal level of the lintel up to this damper opening is only 5.5", so I'm pretty sure these brackets have to go to allow the new liner to correctly mate with the stove outlet? Would they just normally be sawed off?

Also, I'm a little foggy on the front clearance requirements of a raised hearth...From the front of the fireplace opening, my red brick hearth extends out 13" (and is 70" wide), but is raised off the hardwood floor 9.5" across the whole length. Would the Jotul specs of 18" still apply, irregardless of what vertical dimensions there might be? I realize the door swing has some impact here to consider, but I've not seen anywhere that raised hearths make any difference in clearances.