Dead Elms--- How long to season?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

EDGE

Sep 28, 2008
Northeastern ND
Hello to you all---
I'm new to this whole thing (woodburning) and am very glad to have found this Site. Looks great!
About my situation: I own 160 acres, of which 115 are native forest. The trees are mixed, but ranked by population I'd say it runs aspen, bur oak, green ash, elm, box elder, linden, balsam poplar, ironwood. I bought this land about 15 years ago, and built my house at the edge of the woods in 1999, but I always considered the woodland to be for aesthetic use only. The house is small--- 28x36, but with the ceiling at 9 and a half feet. The walls are poured concrete 8" thick with 2" of rigid foam on each side of that. I have water tubing in the slab, heated by an electric boiler, and using off-peak electricity I have never spent more than $400 for heat. Three years ago my buddy began selling corn-stoves, and I have helped him install most them. After watching the customers' delight over the warmth of their new stoves, I started thinking about getting one myself. But I can't grow corn, and I have about a metric bazillion Btu's of wood right out the door, so I started thinking I should go with a woodstove. Since I never accept payment for helping install the corn-stoves, my buddy said he'd get me a woodstove at cost. I've settled on the Jotul 400, and it should be on order. I am hoping to have it "plumbed in" by the end of October.