Defiant 2-in-1, noob owner need some help

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Deadwoodz

Dec 24, 2012
This is our first wood stove, my fiance and I are a little scared of the creosote "burn you and your whole house down" possibility. I'm from Alabama so I have no knowledge of wood stoves and everyone online has different stoves so it's hard to find answers. Might ramble a bit, sorry lol

It's a Vermont Castings Defiant 2-in-1. I'm confused where I should put the magnetic thermostat, about 18" up on the pipe or directly on the stove's griddle? Here's my current situation:

-I put the thermostat on the pipe and let it get to 450F+ degrees. Box is full, good burn, no smoke out chimney.
-I pull the left lever to activate catalytic mode.
-I leave the right lever (air control) fully open.

Less than a minute & the pipe temp drops to between 200-250F. This puts it in the range of "creosote" on the thermostat. The fire can be RIPPING but once I activate cat mode the flames die to almost nothing, like a smoldering appearance, and it's just bright red logs/coals with a little flame and the pipe temp drops 200 degrees.

I just tried something after being in cat mode, I moved the thermostat from the pipe to the griddle, turned the air control past half way and the stove top temp is sitting at 500F while the pipe is 150-200F. No flames really, just glowing red.

Is it ok for the pipe to be at a really low degree when cat mode is activated? I just thought a low temp pipe meant more creosote.

Pic of our stove and hearth:

29w6bzq.jpg