Defiant fibrous material behind fire box

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

tconn308

Oct 7, 2011
S.E. PA
Hi everyone,
Im new at this but sure could use some help. I have a Vermont Castings Defiant 1610 about 5 years old. When I was cleaning behind the fire box, I noticed that there was a chamber behind it that was, as V.C. calls it a white fibrous material that I believe has something to do with the non-cat system. My problem is that I noticed a hole on top of the fiberous box about the size of a nickel. it was not centered but a perfect circle. I do not recall noticing this before. I would not have been concerned but, I use to work for a V.C. distributor and asked a friend if they had one. They did about the same age as mine, I looked in the flue and there was no hole. I emailed V.C., and of course no response. If it is no big deal, o.k., if it normal ok, if it should not be there I was going to patch it with a U.S. quarter coin and some 2000def. F gasket cement. I am not going to take that thing apart and replace the fiberous box for a little hole not to say it will problably cost a forture.
Any help would be apreciated.

Thanks,
Tim

Welcome Tim, sorry to hear this, but it is common with these stoves. It sounds like you are describing the refractory or the fountain assembly. It will need repair, probably replacement. And yes it is expensive. Some folks have patched them. Can you post a picture of the issue?