DHW savings $$

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

harttj

Dec 16, 2008
Ohio
Wondering what kind of $$ savings people have with heating their DHW using their alternative fuel boiler.

I heat DHW with electricity and this is my first year with a corn boiler and the electric bill was $40 less last month. I was hoping it was going to be lower, but had no way of knowing for sure how much juice it was sucking down.

Thanks in advance.

Tim

what you save on DHW will vary tremendously depending on your electric rates, how much hot water you use, etc.

someone who has low electric rates, and does not use a lot of hot water, will save a lot less than someone who has high electric rates and a bunch of teenagers in the house....

Electric water heaters are 100% efficient but not cheap to run,Try to put a propane instantaneous heater on your wish list for 2009 They can get up to high 90's for efficiency they may seem like they use allot of gas when running but nothing when standing by. They also modulate according to incoming water temperature adding to savings