Did Quadrafire reduce its warranty?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

grommal

Feeling the Heat
Hearth Supporter
Mar 4, 2009
Eastern PA
Hi folks. I'm a newbie in this forum, and on the verge of buying a new Quad Isle Royale. Lots of great info here!

All the dealers I talked to touted the limited lifetime warranty, and showed me the warranty terms in the owners manual that also showed lifetime warranty (aside from exclusions for normal wear/tear and accidental damage). So far, so good.

But, the warranty information on Quadrafire's web site is very different. I downloaded the Isle Royale owner's manual, and also the warranty info in the Customer Care area of their web site. Both of these documents have the same lesser warranty information. If I'm interpreting it correctly, it's telling me that the Isle Royale is covered as follows:

7 years on the firebox.
5 years on the baffle plate and other castings.
2 years on the glass.
1 year on other original parts.
Firebrick and the baffle insulation board are not covered at all.
Not one single part is warranted for life.

Am I reading this correctly?

Thanks.

All HHT products sold after Sept 1 2008 have the new warranty. The consolidated the many many different warranties in to a one page table. Some units warranty was decreased while others increased. If something is going to fail from a manufacturing defect it should fail well before the warranty is up. Anything else is probably normal wear and tear.