Diesel Oil

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

bjr23

Nov 2, 2009
Eastern WA
I have a smaller diesel tractor and I buy fuel from the local distributor in a 55 gallon drum. So, I use diesel for starting fuel. Does anyone else use Diesel to start their pellet stove? I just could justify the $5.50 a quart starter gel and then the store quit carrying that brand and the new stuff was $13 a quart. Now I read that hand sanitizer work if it's 62 percent alcohol, well I studied the content labels on a bunch of hand sanitizer and they apparently don't label the alcohol content anymore, so, you don't know what you are getting. bjr23

How about a more or less odorless, spill-proof method, say a bernzomatic torch?

I drive a diesel fueled car. The thought of keeping a small container of diesel in the house just doesn't pass the sniff test, pun intended.

Fuel oil smells!

All of the hand sanitizers I have tried worked just fine. Any Alcohol will work, plus there are many liquids in my garage that will start a fire real easily if needed.
If my ignitor drops dead, that is the easiest problem to overcome at 0300.

Bill

That reminds me I have to replace my furnace oil filter, will use gloves, stuff stinks.

x2 with using alcohol, either 90% isopropyl or denatured works extremely well. Zero odor and zero smoke, just soak the pellets in a 8 oz. cup for a minute and put into the burnpot. Light and enjoy.

wow you must work around diesel a lot or have numb nasal senses

Mapp gas on the torch when I had my Whitfield.