Digital LED temp readout and alarm installed

Post in 'The Hearth Room - Wood Stoves and Fireplaces' started by woodmiser, Nov 19, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Treacherous

    Treacherous
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    995
    Likes Received:
    118
    Loc:
    WA state
    The sticker still says 1512A on device but documentation that came with device says 1512A2.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. WES999

    WES999
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    990
    Likes Received:
    267
    Loc:
    Mass north of Boston
    Just checked the manual on mine, says SYL-1512A1, no alarm mute button.

    Looks like I have the old one and you have the new one.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  3. mattjmcl

    mattjmcl
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Loc:
    Brooksville, ME


    That's funny, they did the same to me. I thought for sure I messed up on my order. But when I looked, it was their wrong pick.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  4. Treacherous

    Treacherous
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    995
    Likes Received:
    118
    Loc:
    WA state
    So far Auber customer service has been good. I emailed them about the error last night and they emailed me this morning that they are shipping one out.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  5. raybonz

    raybonz
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Messages:
    6,211
    Likes Received:
    1,036
    Loc:
    Carver, MA.
    Have you considered using an on-delay timer instead of a relay? This would allow the temp to trigger the temp control output act as a debounce feature for instance if you used a time delay of 1 minute it would not trigger the alarm until the output from the temp control went high for 1 solid minute and this would reduce nuisance alarms.. If you really want to take it to the next level buy a $135.00 PLC such as this one http://tinyurl.com/cp4j5c3 .. The programming software is free as long as your program is small and allows flexibility to change things easily once the I/O is wired.. Overall I am impressed with what you've guys have done so far..

    Ray
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  6. mattjmcl

    mattjmcl
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Loc:
    Brooksville, ME
    I sent an email to them the other night. Glad to hear they've gotten back to you and are sending out a replacement.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  7. Treacherous

    Treacherous
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    995
    Likes Received:
    118
    Loc:
    WA state
    I probably won't mess with the direct fan control option until my Lopi electrical component warranty expires next year.

    Do you think it will be fairly easy to override the rheostat for full speed fan control that activates during an over-fire scenario? I still want to be able to use the variable fan control as well.

     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  8. ajreid

    ajreid
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    14
    Loc:
    il
    I haven't taken the fan off to look at it yet but that would be a good way to have it set up.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  9. WES999

    WES999
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    990
    Likes Received:
    267
    Loc:
    Mass north of Boston
    I don't think a time delay would be the best approach. On a cold start with dry kindling you might be surprised how fast flue temp can rise, when the alarm goes off you really need to turn down the air right away. Waiting for a minute, the flue temp may increase by several hundred degrees. Nuance alarms really are not a problem. You just need to acknowledge the alarm and turn it off while you close the air and let the temp go down.

    Your right the Automation Direct PLC are nice, I have worked with them in the past. I sold one on Ebay some years ago, I am wishing I would have kept it. It would have been just the the ticket for automating the air control.

    I don't think it would be too difficult. On my stove I have only have a switch for hi and low speed.
    I wired my stove top controller to turn the fan on hi at 675 °F . Otherwise generally don't use the fan.
    On my stove it was pretty simple to wire.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  10. Treacherous

    Treacherous
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    995
    Likes Received:
    118
    Loc:
    WA state
    I got the correct 120V buzzer earlier in the week.

    How are most mounting that? I was thinking of making some kind of bracket but short term might just just a zip tie or use some good old black electrical tape. :)
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  11. Treacherous

    Treacherous
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    995
    Likes Received:
    118
    Loc:
    WA state
    outy=2 seems to work fine. I might just leave it there. Maybe I will need to change if I add an additional relay to drive the high speed fan setting on the rheostat?

     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  12. mattjmcl

    mattjmcl
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Loc:
    Brooksville, ME
    I just got my right buzzer today! Hooked it up and tried it... Light flashes, but no sound?!? Any ideas?!?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  13. Treacherous

    Treacherous
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    995
    Likes Received:
    118
    Loc:
    WA state
    Sounds like it is defective. It either works or not. I'd email this address---> auberins@gmail.com

    They were quick to respond after I let them them know that I received an incorrect buzzer.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  14. mattjmcl

    mattjmcl
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Loc:
    Brooksville, ME
    Thanks! I was going to send them something. But thought I'd see if I did something wrong through here first. ;-)
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  15. Treacherous

    Treacherous
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    995
    Likes Received:
    118
    Loc:
    WA state
    My buzzer is wired up as follows:

    • 2 wired to 4

    • 5 wired to buzzer

    • other wire from buzzer wired to 1
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  16. mattjmcl

    mattjmcl
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Loc:
    Brooksville, ME
    Treacherous, yup... Same wiring!
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  17. Treacherous

    Treacherous
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    995
    Likes Received:
    118
    Loc:
    WA state
    Looks like my thermocouple is actually reading low by about 75 degrees. Anyone tweaked theirs yet?

     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  18. WES999

    WES999
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    990
    Likes Received:
    267
    Loc:
    Mass north of Boston
    Why do you think it is low? Are you checking it with an IR thermometer?
    It may be that the magnetic thermocouple just needs to catch up with the stove top.
    I have checked mine with a hand held surface probe and another temp monitor and it is always pretty close.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  19. Treacherous

    Treacherous
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    995
    Likes Received:
    118
    Loc:
    WA state
    Yeah... I am checking with my IR thermometer. This has been the first chance I have gotten to test on the wood stove. The other test was on my home's gas fireplace but I didn't have the IR gun there to test with. I've been burning since about 9AM today. It's been pretty consistent and is touching stove as well as it can. It is directly contacting it on the head of the probe.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  20. Treacherous

    Treacherous
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    995
    Likes Received:
    118
    Loc:
    WA state
    Which thermocouple are you using? Yours looks different and seems like it would make a better contact with a flat surface. I think you posted a parts list. I'll look for that as well.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  21. Treacherous

    Treacherous
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    995
    Likes Received:
    118
    Loc:
    WA state
    The thermocouple I am using comes in from the top of the magnet so I can protect the wiring since someone said there was a 500 degree limit. Is the wiring on yours protected above 500 degrees? My current reading is fairly accurate I just need to tweak the display somehow (if possible) to read the true temperature of 75 degrees higher.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  22. WES999

    WES999
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    990
    Likes Received:
    267
    Loc:
    Mass north of Boston
    I am using this one #WTCK-160 from here: http://www.ppe.com/11cat/0657.pdf
    My wire touches the very edge of the stove, does not seem to be a problem.
    If you are worried about the heat the same company has hi temp fiberglass sleeving, they say is is good to 1000 °F look at # ST-2. http://www.ppe.com/11cat/0744.pdf

    If you are sure you controller is reading low you can program an input offset.
    It is PSb on the config menu.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  23. woodmiser

    woodmiser
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    3
    Loc:
    Garnet Valley, PA
    Keep in mind that as soon as you get away from the stove, even a inch, temp drops dramatically so say your stove top metal is 600°... the air an inch above is much cooler. Your thermocouple wire should be fine. Not only that, my wire is in the path of the blower air.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  24. Treacherous

    Treacherous
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    995
    Likes Received:
    118
    Loc:
    WA state
    Thanks!

    The PSb tweak did the trick. Now it is accurate.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  25. Treacherous

    Treacherous
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    995
    Likes Received:
    118
    Loc:
    WA state
    I got paranoid and added a little extra stack. :)

    [​IMG]


     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page