Disposing of ash from pellet stove

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Nov 26, 2016
Vermont
Hi everyone,

I am a new homeowner with a US Stove Company pellet stove that I am still learning the ins and outs of. Today I bought an ash vacuum that was reasonably priced and enjoyed finally getting to do a more thorough cleaning of the inside of the stove. Now, though, I'm unsure what to do. How do I know when it is safe to take the vacuum outside and dispose of the ashes? It has been close to 24 hours since the stove was run, so I'm assuming I didn't suck up anything hot, but my worse-case-scenario brain is telling me that no matter what I do there is a risk of fire. Also, any suggestions on how to best empty the vacuum once it is safe to do so? I have never dealt with ash before and so I'm not sure if I'm just supposed to dump it in a pile in my backyard or something else. I feel ridiculous!

Reactions: Deezl Smoke
Scatter the ashes in your garden and then hose it down.

I have a outside metal garbage can that I empty the ash pan into and put the lid on. Once that is full, I can spread it on the lawn, garden, etc.

Reactions: Tonyray
Hi everyone,