distribution/convection fan buzz/hum

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

mepellet

Minister of Fire
Aug 10, 2011
Central ME
While using the stove last night for the first time, I was fiddling with the controls every once in a while to try to get used to what they did. When I turned the distribution blower speed adjustment between Low and High (so somewhere in the middle) there was a buzzing/humming noise that sounded like it was coming from behind the adjustment dial. I assume the control board is immediately behind the dials. It’s a brand new stove and I am completely new to pellet stoves so maybe it’s normal but I’m not sure. Any ideas?

Stove do make noise, even new ones.

There is nothing (shouldn't be) in the controls that can make noise as it's all solid state stuff.

What is probably happening is that the fan motor is working in a speed range that is causing a harmonic to set up in the motor or something else in the stoves metal pieces thats vibrating or otherwise causing noise.

If you can carefully open the mechanical cabinet and observe whats going on, you may be able to isolate the noise and figure out whats causing it.

BE CAREFUL as there is HIGH voltage in there while the stove is plugged in.

Many times during operation when the room air fan is set to other than full speed, the motors will make a humming, buzzing or funny noise.

The speed of the fan is controlled by a TRIAC and if the triac is not producing a good clean even voltage wave form the stator in the motor can see a harmonic set up that can at times be anoying.