DIY Pressurized Storage

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

danmitchell9

Jan 7, 2009
Central Maine
As a carpenter I think I'm going to need some help on this project. I've seen people use old propane tanks for storage, but I'm wondering about the "fitting/cutting into the tanks" aspect of the project. Any good links with up close pictures? Or does anyone recommend a good book?

Most folks do minimal cutting and welding. With pressurized, you don't need to put a HX coil inside, so most welding is just threaded fittings. Probably worth having a pro do it. It's not hypercritical - the tanks are rated for 300 psi, and hydronic systems max out at 30.

If your thinking about DHW I have not seen it yet but I've heard of folks wrapping there propane tanks with coils of copper under the insulation for DHW, anybody have pics and results of this type of setup??If you have any doubt what so ever that your welds won't work have a pro do the tank welding I would not recamend learning on a pressure vessal..Dave

I had some trouble with welding fittings to a propane tank. Ulitimately, the mig I was using was underpowered. After borrowing a 220v stick welder I was able to achieve some leak proof fittings after several tries.

I would be very hesitant to cut or weld on an empty propane tank. There was a guy down the road that tried that about 20 yrs ago. The fire dept picked up the pieces after the tank blew up. He was killed instantly.

djblech
Greenwood 100