Do I need an Outside Air Kit Installed?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

richkorn

Minister of Fire
Jul 28, 2008
SE CT
I'm new to this Pellet Stove stuff and am getting a Lopi Leyden freestanding stove installed in Sept. It will vent right up my existing 8" fireplace flue with its own 4" liner.

Question: Do I need to have an air intake line installed? And if so, is this done in the same flue? I thought I didn't need one and the owner of the Fireplace store didn't say otherwise.

Thanks a bunch.

Yes we have a CO detector right in the living room. Even the Harmon install manual for the XXV doesn't show an air kit when going up the existing fireplace flue, just the liner kit all the way to the top. The salesperson asked the owner if I needed it & he just shook his head no and I thought I read somewhere that it doesn't. Maybe it's just that you'd have to drill through a perfectly good fireplace firebox to install that air kit out the back and they don't recommend it? I'm thinking I should be ok, but I'll pick the installers brain(s) when the time comes.

Thanks again.

richkorn said: