Do you clean your own chimney?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Pertzbro

Feeling the Heat
Aug 2, 2016
NW Iowa
If you clean your own, how often do you clean it?

Meanwhile in Russia....

Yes I do but I am a pro. I clean every 2 years but most need it every year. Some more often than that it all depends on your stove your chimney and your fuel.

Yes, have cleaned it for the past few years after hiring a sweep and seeing only cups of soot cleaned out. Cleaning this fall with a sooteater found about 4 oz (half cup) of soot.

I brush mine about every four cords burned, so about twice a season.

Generally have a pro in every summer, mostly for the wife's peace of mind.

I clean both chimneys every fall. It makes sure there's nothing in there that'll catch on fire or stop smoke. I had yellow jackets come down 1 year!

I clean both chimneys every fall. It makes sure there's nothing in there that'll catch on fire or stop smoke. I had yellow jackets come down 1 year!
I do look up mine every year with a mirror in the cleanout to make sure it is clear before i fire it up

Yep, I sweep my own chimney. Been doing it for the past 30+ years. I'm also using a Sooteater which makes it a little easier on the old bones.

Reactions: mitchell721
I'm not, but I think I'd be able to do it, after getting familiar with the procedure.
Some chimneys are really easy some are not. We do many that take 20 mins but some take 2 to 3 hours it all depends.

Reactions: Viking59