1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Do you hate your Ash Pan + Poll

Post in 'The Hearth Room - Wood Stoves and Fireplaces' started by Pallet Pete, Oct 31, 2012.

?

How about that ash pan? Do you...

  1. Love it, use it all the time

    60.7%
  2. Like it and use it occasionally

    1.6%
  3. Don't use it although the stove has one

    18.0%
  4. Tried it and don't like it

    14.8%
  5. Use it for a bun warmer

    4.9%
  1. Pallet Pete

    Pallet Pete Guest

    Well today I decided to just ignore my ash pan as it is the only flaw in my stove ! Lol don't get me wrong I love my stove very much and it is a real well built good quality stove but for heaven sake why is the ash pan such a pain ! So instead of having to cool the stove to empty it out and then having to use my ash rake to pull all the ash out of the compartment as well I have decided to completely ignore its existence and go back to scooping out the ash. Does any body else do this ? I am really just curious more than anything.

    Pete

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. jotul8e2

    jotul8e2 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    288
    Loc:
    Ozarks
    Why do you have to let the stove cool down?

    I empty mine about every third day (when burning 24/7) first thing of a morning before I start a new load. I use an ash shovel to clean out the ash that didn't go in the pan; takes six to 10 seconds. The Oslo ash pan is one of my favorite features.
    BrowningBAR and Pallet Pete like this.
  3. EatenByLimestone

    EatenByLimestone Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2006
    Messages:
    4,815
    Loc:
    Schenectady, NY
    I use it on the Century as it is large enough to empty into twice. It seems like it's about half the size of the firebox. For the 30 it is a poorly designed waste of space and is ignored. In fact, I cut a firebrick to fit over the hole so I can rake and scoop without any issues.

    Matt
    ScotO and Pallet Pete like this.
  4. pen

    pen There are some who call me...mod. Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    7,012
    Loc:
    N.E. Penna
    4th season on the NC-30, and the stove as not seen ash, in the ash pan. Instead, I filled the void were the ash plug was with a fire brick and some furnace cement.

    If it's shoulder season, and I don't need a full load of wood, I let the ash build up quite a bit. But, if it's time for the black beast to make some heat, I just use the ash rake, and push almost everything to the back 1/2 of the wood stove, then use the rake to pull what coals are in there to the front of the stove, then shovel however much of the ash I want to remove out from the back of the stove, reload, and carry on.

    pen
    SmokeyCity, Dairyman and Pallet Pete like this.
  5. Pallet Pete

    Pallet Pete Guest

    I don't really have to but I also don't like pulling the hot ash from the bottom back of the ash compartment. I have to empty it every other day or so. Otherwise it gets to full to pull out without ash going all over. My previous stoves have been scooped for the most part and it was far less messy for me to do.

    Pete
  6. Woody Stover

    Woody Stover Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5,486
    Loc:
    Southern IN
    Yeah, this Buck 91 I'm installing at my MIL's has an "ash drop," a small hole with a lid in the bottom of the stove. I'm not too hopeful about its functionality. The grate with the ash pan below it like in the Keystone is the bee's knees, and beats the hell out of shoveling. ==c
    Pallet Pete likes this.
  7. BrotherBart

    BrotherBart Hearth.com LLC Mid-Atlantic Division Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    27,976
    Loc:
    Northern Virginia
    Since 2006 the only thing my ash pan has been used for is a food warmer. Never had an ash in it.
  8. rottiman

    rottiman Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,102
    Loc:
    Ontario Canada
    Don't hate it, just totally ignore it.........................Personally, find it a useless piece of kit on a wood stove.
    ScotO, ditchrider and Pallet Pete like this.
  9. Pallet Pete

    Pallet Pete Guest

    Wow I never new so many people ignored it ! Kind makes me wonder why they even put them on.

    Pete
    CatieG likes this.
  10. jeff_t

    jeff_t Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,499
    Loc:
    SE MI
    I used mine once, when I was burning the paint in outside. I wanted the stove cooled off so I could push it back into the garage. I like the pan itself, as it has a hinged cover that keeps everything neatly inside, it's just a PITA to fill.
  11. raybonz

    raybonz Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Messages:
    6,205
    Loc:
    Carver, MA.
    Hey that's a great idea! I never use mine and that would work awesome.. Have you actually done that?

    Ray
  12. raybonz

    raybonz Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Messages:
    6,205
    Loc:
    Carver, MA.
    The T-5 has a well designed easy to use ash pan but I never use it. Never emptied it on the CDW as the stove ran better with it full. Shoveling the T-5 is easy and I always leave at least an inch of ash in the bottom..

    Ray
  13. Pallet Pete

    Pallet Pete Guest

    I was thinking about removing the grate and having a thick steel plate cut to put in its place. This would allow me to use it as an oven. You think that would work ?

    Pete
  14. corey21

    corey21 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,215
    Loc:
    Soutwest VA
    I miss a grate and ash clean out area.
  15. HollowHill

    HollowHill Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    667
    Loc:
    Central NY
    I love mine and its the only way I've dealt with the ashes. The floor of my firebox is a grate and I just rake the ashes back and forth, they fall thru and every week or so, I empty the ash pan. The pan has a separate lid that I slide on as I slide the pan out of the stove, so no ash floats around.
    Backwoods Savage likes this.
  16. raybonz

    raybonz Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Messages:
    6,205
    Loc:
    Carver, MA.
    I don't know but you could try wrapping something in foil to test it. An over thermometer may be of help too..

    Ray
  17. BrotherBart

    BrotherBart Hearth.com LLC Mid-Atlantic Division Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    27,976
    Loc:
    Northern Virginia
    Yep.
  18. laynes69

    laynes69 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1,815
    Loc:
    Ashland OH
    I'm not sure how the NC 30's are, but our furnace has a small loop to grab with a poker and a grate underneath it for the ash pan. The only reason why I like ours is it sifts out the ash from the coals. I did put a firebrick in it's place but chickened out and put it back in. I still have problems even after 3 seasons of sifting out coals from the ash. Our old furnace had shaker grates and it took about 2 seconds to remove ash, but was terribly inefficient. It's difficult when my wife mixes both ash and coals in a big pile.
  19. simple.serf

    simple.serf Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    269
    Loc:
    Sherman, NY
    My stove has an ash dump into a pan. It's a PITA, and you usually make more of a mess using it than if you just take a shovelful from each side of the stove every morning. The worst part is if you don't have the plug just right, The damper doesn't do diddly. It is the only time I have ever had this stove run away from me. I just couldn't figure out why I couldn't get damped down! After that incident, I don't bother using the pan.
    raybonz likes this.
  20. Highbeam

    Highbeam Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    8,952
    Loc:
    base of Mt. Rainier on the wet side, WA
    Ash pans, generally, are a marketing gimick. Not to be used in real life, but to check off on the box saying it has one. They also do double duty byuproviding heat shielding between the fire and the hearth. I have a bucket and a shovel that I use to empty the ashes. If a coal gets in there, big deal, but that bucket holds at least double the volume of the ash pan and is far more convenient.
    raybonz likes this.
  21. EatenByLimestone

    EatenByLimestone Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2006
    Messages:
    4,815
    Loc:
    Schenectady, NY
    A grate on the NC30 might not be a good idea since the pan does not have a sealed door. I see a loss of burn control and overheating with a grate. Maybe you could try it will a few small splits before loading it up for the night.

    Matt
  22. bag of hammers

    bag of hammers Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,168
    Loc:
    Northern ON
    I may use the pan once at the beginning of the heating season when I clean chimney /stove. Easy to sweep the last few bits down the plug hole. After that, plug goes back in for remainder of the season. Much easier to scoop out a shovelful than monkey with the plug / hook, and worse trying to fiddle with it to get it back on tight. Sliding the pan out and across the bottom of the pedestal also does a mean number on the paint. I let the top of the plug fill with ash on first burn and then forgret about it until next time I do a clean / inspection on cold stove.
  23. Woody Stover

    Woody Stover Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5,486
    Loc:
    Southern IN
    That thread title is surely gonna draw the haters, particularly the vociferously vehement. ;lol
    Lots of 30-NC folks jumping in so we can assume that system sucks, and maybe the Blaze King's isn't too good, either. Some people are just don't like ash pans. It seems to be deeply ingrained in their psyches. Some of the reasons given here don't make too much sense to me. As far as the Rangeley, if the ashes don't hit the pan, that's certainly a problem. I had virtually no ash outside the pan with the Keystone. I only had to empty it every three days or so. I might be able to wait that long with the FV but I have an ever-increasing pile of ash and coal robbing me of fire box space. Sure, I can burn down the coals but I would rather just knock a little ash through the grate, move the coals forward, and load and go when it gets cold out and I need heat production. But HollowHill...once a week?? The shovelers would have to find something else to do with all their spare time. ;lol
    Thanks for the heads-up. The Buck 91 has a gasket around the end of the pan but it doesn't lock into place like a door does. I'll have to keep an eye on that...
  24. BrowningBAR

    BrowningBAR Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    7,607
    Loc:
    Doylestown, PA
    Of the six stoves I've owned, five had have ash pans. Only the Encore and Defiant are worth using, and even then I rarely use them as they aren't that convenient. The ash pan system is very much like the Woodstock ash pan and probably Jotul, where it is a grate that you sift the ashes through and then you remove the ash pan.

    I can go several days without removing any ash in the Encore, and I can go two weeks on the Defiant. When I do remove the ash I will shovel and sift the ash out of the VC fireboxes and over the course of several weeks the ash pans become full. So, I do use the ash pans, but I only use them to minimize the amount of shoveling I need to do. They just aren't worth it as the only form of ash management.

    The 30 also seems pretty good at managing ash build up. I have no plan on using the ash pan.

    But, I agree with jotul8e2, no reason to wait for the stove to go cold to remove the ashes.
  25. begreen

    begreen Mooderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    46,970
    Loc:
    South Puget Sound, WA
    I consider it a useless appendage on the T6. They should offer is as an accessory and lower the base price.
    raybonz likes this.

Share This Page