Does anybody else do this

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by Lower bucks, Feb 9, 2013.

  1. Lower bucks

    Lower bucks
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    9
    I have had the stove on continously for the past 3 days the embers in the burnpot are getting high I know the burnpot needs to be cleaned so as the pellets will not backup.Step1 Turn the heat setting to the max the blower goes to the max.Step2 Turn the temp down to zero no pellets are now falling and the blower is blowing all the loose flyash out of the burnpot.Step3 When all the loose flyash is out of the burnpot turn the temp up again and new pellets falling breaks up any other flyash that has not been blown out.By doing this my burnpot has almost completely emptied.
     

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. imacman

    imacman
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    Sounds like you have a good routine.

    BTW, it would be nice to know what stove you're talking about. Why not put the make, model, and yr. built in your signature....that way, we don't have to keep asking.
     
  3. St_Earl

    St_Earl
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,337
    Likes Received:
    344
    Loc:
    millinocket, maine
    i do a similar process. but i just open the lid to stop the pellets dropping without re-engaging the igniter.
    then i use an extra long screwdriver and when the flame dies down, i open the door and stir the pot vigorously.
    shut door, close lid and let a few pellets drop and lift the lid to let them catch fire before more drop. shut lid again and let it run.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  4. moey

    moey
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,323
    Likes Received:
    325
    Loc:
    Southern Maine
    I do the same open the lid for 60 seconds or so.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  5. Lower bucks

    Lower bucks
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    9
    Opps its a quad mt vernon non ae I bought it new about 4 years ago $2200 now they are over $4000.
     
  6. DexterDay

    DexterDay
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    If your pot is filling with embers? Then there is an airflow issue?

    I cant even see the pellets/embers in my stove? If I could? Then there is a issue with my air (either plugged OAK, dirty/plugged stove, or plugged vent/cap)
     
  7. smoke show

    smoke show
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    Must have been new old stock, cause the AE has been produced since 2006.
     
  8. jtakeman

    jtakeman
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    13,496
    Likes Received:
    1,572
    Loc:
    Northwestern CT.
    I used to turn mine down and quickly open the door and swish the burnpot. Don't need to anymore. The agitator does the pot tending for me.

    Good tip to extend the run when its cold and can't afford a shutdown/cooldown for some! ;)
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  9. St_Earl

    St_Earl
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,337
    Likes Received:
    344
    Loc:
    millinocket, maine
    exactly. eventually the cleaning rod needs to be pulled and the pot fully cleared. but this helps extend the time between doing that.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  10. Lower bucks

    Lower bucks
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    9
    One day I came home and burn pot was full, pellets were lined up the shute and burning I was certain I could have got a hopper fire.Tonight its going down to 16 I do not want to shut down the stove so if I notice the burnpot has accumulated a lot of embers I will clean by doing this exercise.I can give it a good clean tomorrow when temps go to 40.With regards to Dexters comment he make sense he does not get embers but if thats the case why has the quad mt vernon ae got an agitator in the firepot
     
  11. moey

    moey
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,323
    Likes Received:
    325
    Loc:
    Southern Maine
    I usually do it if I have a little ash building up on the sides of the burnpot. If the pellets are backing up and building with time I think you need to clean.

    I cant really even see the pellets in my quad unless I look down at just the right angle I can usually see some glowing.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  12. Don2222

    Don2222
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    7,767
    Likes Received:
    459
    Loc:
    Salem NH
    Hello

    Selkirk DT venting pre-heats the burn air and helps really keep down the caked ash in the burn pot. Like the Carlin burner has a nozzle heater to preheat the oil! I will be installing it soon. Right now I have a real problem with that this year. Our chimney lining has developed a crack in the clay lining which certainly does not help, so I am hoping the new ss liner and selkirt DT masonary kit will all help. I also got the vacuum cleanout. That will make it worth it!
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
    glenc0322 likes this.
  13. jtakeman

    jtakeman
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    13,496
    Likes Received:
    1,572
    Loc:
    Northwestern CT.
    The Mt Vernon has an auto dump, Not an agitator.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  14. DexterDay

    DexterDay
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    His stove doesn't have an agitator or an "Auto Dump".

    The Non AE's were a manual pull, just like your old Quad and My Classic Bay.

    They have a Dump for ash.

    If your stove is accumulating Pellets/Embers up to the Auger drop.chute, then there is a gasket leaking, vent plugged, or stove is dirty.

    Quads have Copious amounts of air coming through the Pot. I can burn for 2 weeks before pulling my ash dump. I am at 1 week right now and its Spotless! Literally. If your stove is "Building Up" then its a problem. You should be able to go at least a couple days with Chitty pellets.
     
  15. Lower bucks

    Lower bucks
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    9
  16. DexterDay

    DexterDay
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    No.. Dumping ash (very little) over 2 weeks (a few tablespoons) is not the same as your Pot filling up.

    Has the stove done this since new? Have you done the dollar bill test on your door gasket? When was the last time the vent was cleaned? And the cap? Behind the baffle plates? Combustion blower removed? Cleaned? And seviced?

    All this is to be done at least yearly (bi-annually for most)....??
     
  17. DexterDay

    DexterDay
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    Maybe you need to see how a Quad should burn ?? Here is my Classic Bay on Medium (a smaller stove than yours).

    Even the smaller Castiles and Santa Fe's have a vigorous flame. Thats why Quads Slogan is "Nothing burns like a Quad"!!

     
    PoolGuyinCT likes this.
  18. Lower bucks

    Lower bucks
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    9
    I will be honest I have had the stove 4 or 5 years I have the same ignitor have always run it on manual never temp setting I do not use the ashtray I use a paint brush push all the built up ash to a corner and spoon out.I go into the garage every 6 weeks and clean out the chimney trap thats it.I never fire the stove over setting 2 because if I do it will overfire and I have to reset the snap disc.I have not ever taken the stove apart nor has the dealer ever been back.But right now its on setting 1 manual its 28 outside
    and I have 69 in here.Saw your video my flame is not as strong a little lazier
     
  19. john193

    john193
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,053
    Likes Received:
    184
    Loc:
    Southeast PA
    Can this trick be done with the new AE models?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  20. jrsdws

    jrsdws
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    80
    Loc:
    Central Illinois
    I can let my Mt Vernon non AE go for a couple of weeks and do nothing but add fuel and adjust heat setting as necessary. I run mostly on low and medium and subscribe to the "low and slow" method to keep things warm. I shut down and open for a quick vacuum after two weeks only because I'm bored and I convince myself it needs it...when in reality it's burning just fine still. Depending on the pellets being burned, I get a small little ash cookie in the bottom at worst.

    If you can actually see burning pellets in that deep burn pot then you're not getting complete combustion and have a leak somewhere as Dex has pointed out.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
    DexterDay likes this.
  21. john193

    john193
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,053
    Likes Received:
    184
    Loc:
    Southeast PA
    That's one nice thing about the non AE, sometimes I wish autoclean was a manual option on this stove.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
    DexterDay likes this.
  22. DexterDay

    DexterDay
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    And THIS is how a Non AE should run. Or ANY Quadrafire for that matter.

    Sounds as if the OP has never fully cleaned or taken the stove apart.

    Please. Please read the manual. LOTS of Maintenance should have been done.

    Your stove is burning like Chit for a reason. Don't make suggestions to the Forum that don't need to be suggested. If a stove (Any) is building up, then there is an underlying issue. Thats not how it's "Supposed" to be.
     
  23. Lower bucks

    Lower bucks
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    9
    I will try the dollar bill test as I have the same gasket for 5 years. Gone thro 3 tons already and now picking up 6 to 8 bags when I go to HD I have no oil and have not have a delivery in 3 years.Last year got flooded and lost my furnace put a new one in for 6g and still have not used it kind of tees me off.
     
  24. jrsdws

    jrsdws
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    80
    Loc:
    Central Illinois
    Maybe pull the cast iron baffles and ash trap door and clean real good. Then I'd run a brush through the vent and/or leaf blower trick it. Also, while the ash trap door is off you can inspect your combustion blower fan blades and clean them too. If they're getting any build up of crud on them you're not getting full cfm from it.

    Out of curiosity.....where are you running the feed gate and what level do you usually burn on....low, med, high, or quad?

    I get what you're suggesting as a way to keep from shutting down, but that shouldn't be necessary with your stove.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
    DexterDay likes this.
  25. jtakeman

    jtakeman
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    13,496
    Likes Received:
    1,572
    Loc:
    Northwestern CT.
    My answer was to correct him that the AE doesn't have an agitator! I just didn't include AE-Too lazy to type it.
    I owned a quad for 9 seasons too! ;) Dex a little wound up tonight? :p

    Bet you didn't know my old quad(nova 800) or the 1000 didn't have an ash dump with the original ceramic pot. It was an upgrade later on in its life. Ash dump came out with the cast pot upgrade. A lil Quad history lesson for the young chap. :p
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature

Share This Page