Does everyone in here runs their Pellet Stoves overnight?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
K

katwillny

I have a Breckwell P22 which I have been using for the past few winters. I usually turn it off right before we go to bed. By then the house is nice and toasty. Any objections to running the stove overnight? any concerns? Fears?

i heat my house 24/7 when it's cold enough to warrant it. i've been burning wood appliances for many years while home, and not home, sleeping, etc.... never have had an reason for concern. though i will admit, the first couple times i left my stoves running when i wasn't home, took a bit getting used to. after that, no problem. if you have a good proper install, clean chimney and/or lining, you should be all set. good luck.

i few co and smoke detectors in the house also helps getting over it burning when you're asleep. imo.

Not at all. If it's a really cold night, we leave it on. That assumes basic safety, for example that your stove is clean enough, that you have a smoke and carbon monoxide alarm and so forth. But I would check with people who have your specific model of stove to be sure there are no safety problems. Of course, you're burning pellets and may be wasting them if you don't mind the place being cooler when you get up in the morning.