Dog food

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

mbcijim

Mar 10, 2008
Schuylkill County, Pa
When my dog (Labrador) was a puppy I fed him Eukanuba (top end) dog food for the first year or two. Then I graduated to the cheapest dog food. Now he turns 11 next week and a month ago my vet wanted me to get him on a senior food (Purina One). It is more expensive about $26 for the large bag instead of $12-$15. He's been on it now for a month or so. I swear that my dog has WAY more energy than he did on the cheap food. I've been very, very surprised at the change I've seen. He's not overweight, just starting to get old, arthritis for the last 3-4 years.

Has anyone else seen this in their dogs?

We've always fed our pups the expensive stuff (Solid Gold - Wee Bits), but they're practically microscopic so they each eat 1/2 cup a day total. They're bonkers, very healthy at 7-8- we will see what the next few years brings.

I notice the difference with my cats. I always feed them the best I can buy locally. Spending an extra 15/month on cat food for me isn't a big deal when you consider the cat may live longer if it eats well, have less health problems, be more happy, and I especially noticed it makes their fur so much more shiny and healthy looking.

Here's a good site for info about dog food.
http://dogfoodanalysis.com/

A lot of the top brands vets recommend are actually very bad for them (Science Diet).