Domestic hot water off thermal storage tanks

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Rob186

Jul 3, 2012
New jersey
I am installing a vedrolux 37 with 2 500 gallon storage tanks and want to put a coil for my hot water in the top one I am tri g to find a coil to go into the tank and I can only find one from boiler supply I am a commercial hvac tech so I was thinking of making one if I can find something reasonably priced anyone have any input on we're I can purchase or ant information on making one

It's not on their web site, but Ahona (they advertise here) sells them. They're just under $400. You'll have to call or email them for the poop on it - I think they fit into a 4in. female pipe thread fitting you'd weld on your tank.

Now for some McGyver input: call me crazy but I am going to try packing & spreading out a couple 100' coils of 3/4 pex in around the top of my tanks, under the insulation. Maybe even 4 of them, 2 on each tank. I figured there's a couple gallons capacity in each roll, that would give me almost 10 extra gallons of hot DHW - plus a heat exchanger. I have found the hard way that, in my world at least, it is best to keep tank welding to an absolute minimum & preserve original tank integrity as much as possible. I hate chasing leaks I can't easliy fix. I'm not sure anyone has tried this - don't think I've read about it on here anyway. It might end up a total failure - only one way to find out though.

Plus pex coils are a heck of a lot cheaper than in-tank DWH copper coils.

maple one said