1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Dovre 400 reattaching to my thermostat

Post in 'It's a Gas!' started by guywithquestions, Jul 22, 2013.

  1. guywithquestions

    guywithquestions New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Loc:
    Washington
    I had to unhook my dovre from the wall.
    There were two wires that attached to the dovre to run the thermostat
    I don't remember where the wires went and I can't find a picture or manual online.

    Any idea how to reattach the thermostat wires?

    Thanks!

    Attached Files:

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. DAKSY

    DAKSY Patriot Guard Rider Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,399
    Loc:
    Averill Park, NY, on Burden Lake II...
    Upper left of the pic there is a terminal block which allows wiring to be connected with Female spades. There should be two terminals on that block marked with the letters TH. Those are your mV thermostat connection points. If there are more letters (like TP) on one of the blocks don't worry about it. There is no polarity involved, so it doesn't matter which wire goes where. If you take a short jumper wire & touch either end to a terminal labelled TH, your Dovre should come on. That will confirm your connection points.
    Heatsource likes this.
  3. guywithquestions

    guywithquestions New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Loc:
    Washington
    Thank you!
    Can you take a look at this picture to see if I've done it right?

    Second question, can you help me to light the pilot light?

    Thank you again.

    Attached Files:

  4. DAKSY

    DAKSY Patriot Guard Rider Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,399
    Loc:
    Averill Park, NY, on Burden Lake II...
    I don't think so. I don't see any pair of wires that go to the TH terminals. I see one pair in the rear that are black with red spades. One goes to TP one goes to TH. The other two pairs go to the TP-TH & the TP terminals. You have to run your THermostat to the TH terminals.
  5. guywithquestions

    guywithquestions New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Loc:
    Washington
    I have now connected the thermostat lines to the THs

    The black wires with the red caps run up to the top of the unit to an on off switch.

    How can I tell that this thing is wired correct?
    What's the next step in getting the unit working again?

    Thank you very much for your help on this matter.

    Attached Files:

  6. DAKSY

    DAKSY Patriot Guard Rider Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,399
    Loc:
    Averill Park, NY, on Burden Lake II...
    If the black wires are to a switch, I believe they should be wired just as the T-Stat.
    Those connections should ALSO be at the TH terminals...A T-Stat IS a switch.
    Do you have the owner's manual? If not we'll keep moving on...
    Take a pic of the front of the valve & we'll see if we can get the pilot lit.
  7. guywithquestions

    guywithquestions New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Loc:
    Washington
    I made the switch per your instructions. I don't have the manual, but I did take a picture of the lighting unit of the stove. Can you help me light the pilot light? I would experiment around myself, but I don't want to blow up the house.

    Attached Files:

  8. DAKSY

    DAKSY Patriot Guard Rider Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,399
    Loc:
    Averill Park, NY, on Burden Lake II...
    First of all is this NG or LP fueled?
    If NG, is the gas on?
    If LP, is the tank full & the gas flow turned on
    Secondly, have you bled the air from the gas line?
  9. guywithquestions

    guywithquestions New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Loc:
    Washington
    It is natural gas.
    I have the ability to turn the gas on, but it's currenlty off

    I have not bled the air from the gas line. I'm not sure exactly how that would be accomplished.
  10. DAKSY

    DAKSY Patriot Guard Rider Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,399
    Loc:
    Averill Park, NY, on Burden Lake II...
    Do you feel confident to do this? If so I can probably talk you thru the procedure, but if you're hesitant, it might be better left to a pro. Your call...
  11. guywithquestions

    guywithquestions New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Loc:
    Washington
    No, let's give this a go.

    Give me the direction and I'll follow it to the word. ONce again. Thank you!
  12. DAKSY

    DAKSY Patriot Guard Rider Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,399
    Loc:
    Averill Park, NY, on Burden Lake II...
    OK. Post a pic of the side of the valve here the gas is hooked to it.
    That will help be see what you've got.
    Also, give me a close up of the On-Pilot-Off knob.
    There should be a small red or white dot or an arrowhead near
    the OD to indicate the position it is currently in.
  13. Ironhorse74

    Ironhorse74 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    240
    Loc:
    The Great Pacific North Wet
    Hey Bob

    Just noticed your (new?) profile picture. Nice ride. 09 Roadglide here

    Way off topic my apologies in advance

    Brad
    DAKSY likes this.
  14. DAKSY

    DAKSY Patriot Guard Rider Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,399
    Loc:
    Averill Park, NY, on Burden Lake II...

    Hey Brad.
    Nice. Couple of guys in the chapter ride them...
    (Geezer Glide for me...)
  15. Heatsource

    Heatsource Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Messages:
    786
    Loc:
    Northern CA
    DAKSY likes this.

Share This Page