Dovre Model 300h Smoke Issues

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Evan Childress

Dec 1, 2013
Ashland MA
Hey everyone this is my first time posting on this forum hope anyone can help any advice is appreciated before I have to call the local stove guys!!

I recently acquired an older wood stove for my house through a friend. It is a Dovre 300h it's in great shape couple things wrong here and there but nothing that would cause these problems I'm having. I've noticed recently in the past couple days the stove not producing as much heat as it usually does and if it does it takes an abnormal amount of time to get hot. Yesterday it started to smoke a lot. It has what I believe to be a second burn chamber or some type of smoke converter at the top I will have exact pics to show what I mean. It has a small vent that comes out the side of the stove where smokes now pours out of along with around one of the front doors. All gaskets that this top portion sits on and doors have been replaces correctly.

Could that top portion that has what I believe is a cat converter for stoves be clogged up
-or-
Is my stove pipe potentially clogged it is a straight tube out the back to a 90 angle straight up about 2 feet where it meets the flue of the chimney

The stove is clean all around air vents and ash catcher so it's getting air but it's choking the stove and now it's almost impossible to start a fire

Please help its December in the middle of a New England winter for me!!!

PICS:

Last edited: