Down draft

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Michael Dabbraccio

Dec 28, 2012
I have been burning wood for 35 years and last night I seen something happen that I have never seen before. I have a Defiant, one year old. Last night I started to smell smoke I went to check my stove it was very windy outside while I was standing there I could hear a quick gust and them see smoke come out around the top door of the stove and also seemed like the side. I watched it ihappen a few times . When I installed the stove i put a damper in the pipe which has a strignt run I had never used it the stove seems to be manageable with the controls that came with it. I decided to turn the damper in the pipe closed a little in hopes it may stop the gust from pushing out smoke it seemed to have worked . Has any one ever had this happen to them like I said it was real windy out side I burned last season and this never happened.

How tall is the chimney on the stove?

How tall is the chimney on the stove?
The chimney has a straight run from the top of the stove there is about 4 feet of pipe in the house at the dealing it goes to triple wall pipe which goes through the roof and I am sure it is above the roof line

What would you estimate as the total flue length?

My draft seems to increase on the windy days, Never had any downdraft problems yet.

From the top of the stove to the cap on the top at the roof I would estimate 12 to 13 feet total