1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Drolet ECO-45 "P" Code....Help Please!

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by Siko, Nov 16, 2012.

  1. Siko

    Siko Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Loc:
    Northern Ontario
    Bought this stove in the fall of 2007 and have heated with it for the past 5 winters without issue. Last weekend, after my weekly cleaning of the vent pipes, it failed to start, giving me a "P" error code. I re-cleaned all the pipes, removed the inner panel and cleaned the upper and lower baffles, removed the fan maintenance panel on the left side and cleaned in there too. I am confident there is no blockage of any type. I then removed the pressure switch hose and it was dried up and cracked at one end, so I cut it back to rubber and re-installed it after blowing through it to ensure it was free of obstruction. So now I'm at my wits end. When trying to ignite, the burn pot fills with pellets, the ignitor glows orange, the combustion fan goes, but the pellets do not light and after about ten minutes of trying, it shuts down with a "P" code. Right now I'm at the point of ordering a new pressure switch because I have no idea what else it could be. Anyone have any ideas????

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. smwilliamson

    smwilliamson Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    3,903
    Loc:
    Southcoast, MA
    Jump the wires going to the switch and see if it runs. If you have an aor flow switch with H and L ports, make sure the hose os on tje L port and if the switch allows for NO or NC operation, the wires should be in the NO position, or on the first and third spade with the middle one not the used.

    Lastly, check yer gaskets around the doors.
  3. Siko

    Siko Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Loc:
    Northern Ontario
    I bypassed the pressure switch and now it runs for 30 minutes with the ignitor glowing, but not lighting the pellets before going to an "L" code. Could it be the ignitor???
  4. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,151
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    You either have an igniter on its last legs or ash in the area around the igniter blocking the hot air from igniting the pellets.

    It is also possible that there is ash inside the exhaust paths that start above the burn pot and usually on both sides of pellets stoves.

    Open up all ash trap ports and use the brush and vacuum routine on them.
  5. Siko

    Siko Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Loc:
    Northern Ontario
    Well then it must be the igniter, because I have had every part of this unit apart and I've cleaned the begeeses out of everything. There is note one ash anywhere!
  6. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,151
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Try a manual light.
  7. FyreBug

    FyreBug Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    771
    Loc:
    Kitchener, Ontario
    Sounds like the pressure switch needs replacing. If you have an "L" code its an ignition issue. Before you replace the igniter, have you replaced the small gasket at the back of the burn pot? Use 2 for good measure. Their purpose is to seal any air leaks around the igniter so the heat is focused on the pellets. Also make sure your air damper is almost closed. It should work better this way.

    You should always have a AC09189 gasket kit on hand. You can get them here http://myfireplaceproducts.com/Catalog.aspx

    The pressure switch part # is 44029

    Let us know how it goes.
  8. pete324rocket

    pete324rocket Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    Messages:
    453
    Loc:
    albert county, new brunswick
    With a small stick producing smoke, determine if indeed air flow is present.There is an air outlet behind a panel that must be removed on the left-hand side of the burn pot-shown in the owners manual.Doubtful it would be blocked that much.The panel is hard to get off-vice grips may be needed. The stove will give a p code very easily and mine will somwtimes when the stack pressure isn't just quite right,but thats its job.

Share This Page