1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Drolet Eco 45 WARNING CODE (n) Inverted polarity in power outlet.

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by Luc, Jan 7, 2013.

  1. Luc

    Luc New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Loc:
    Edmundston
    I have a Drolet Eco 45and it give me the warning code ...
    WARNING CODE (n) Inverted polarity in power outlet.

    i just did a clean up ... the convection blower are fine but the combustion / exhaust blower motor is not turning at all

    what i did so far

    1. Complete clean up from A to Z
    2. Check if power to combustion / exhaust blower motor was ok all fine there 120 V
    3. Pressure switch is ok air goes true fine
    4. Pelet feeding motor work fine
    5. Convection blower are working ok
    6. Manually turn the combustion / exhaust blower motor to see if it was jammed it turn fine
    7. stove was cooled down to room temp

    as for the reset procedure i did

    1. + and - for 3 sec for the test phase
    2. Mode and reset together for 3+ sec
    3. unplugged the power many time off for 20 min +

    After all this i still get the same error code ( (n) Inverted polarity in power outlet.) i have absolutely no clue !! Help

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. mikkeeh

    mikkeeh Burning Hunk

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    207
    Loc:
    NE Ohio
    Never got that code before??? Is it possible to invert your plug in the outlet? Probably not but just a thought. To check the outlet, turn OFF the breaker, remove the outlet and assure it is wired correctly. Should have the black wire on the copper collored screw, white wire on the silver colored screw. There are also plug in polarity testers available at home inprovement stores for about $5 that will verify correct outlet polarity. Hope this helps.
  3. Luc

    Luc New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Loc:
    Edmundston
    I never touch the outlet to be honest ... but i gave it a try any way
    I unplug my stove and reversed the polarity before the control panel in it and it didn't work
    Got the same error code (n)

    so i did the usual reset as mentioned above same result
  4. Luc

    Luc New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Loc:
    Edmundston
    Now i just got an extension and plugged the stove on another outlet and the error is gone
    But still the stove wont work look like the exhaust engine is fried
  5. Luc

    Luc New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Loc:
    Edmundston
    it just got me a new error code ''P''
    and electricity goes true
    so my blower is dead ! great
    SE44039 COMBEX BLOWER 120 VOLTS 45 SERIE $$$ outch
  6. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,040
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Did you by any chance remove the wires going to your comb/ex blower when you did your cleaning?

    If so make sure the stove is off and unplugged, then exchange the two wires going to the comb/ex blower.

    Plug the stove back in the way it was originally and reset and retry.
  7. pete324rocket

    pete324rocket Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    Messages:
    453
    Loc:
    albert county, new brunswick
    What answer did you get when you emailed the technical department at SBI? (The people who engineered the stove)
  8. FyreBug

    FyreBug Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    771
    Loc:
    Kitchener, Ontario
    Hi Luc, How long have you had the stove? If you had it for a while and worked fine then all of a sudden things started to go haywire it's possible a static shock was sent to the board while you were vacuuming the unit. Have you tried bypassing the pressure switch to see if it works?

    The main board first checks the pressure switch. If it senses a blockage (or defective switch) nothing will turn on. Have you tried calling us or sending us an email? I was on tech support all day yesterday and did not see an email come through.

    If not send me a PM with your email address and phone number and i'll call you today.
  9. Coyote_nb_ca

    Coyote_nb_ca New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2012
    Messages:
    53
    Loc:
    Carlingford NB Canada
    Hi,

    have the same pob Code "n" b4 and mail to drolet
  10. Luc

    Luc New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Loc:
    Edmundston
    Error Was a ( N )
    But Now It's a (P)

    and if i check the TS step it ask you to check for power and it goes to the engine ( Blower )
    after it say if the power goes and the engine don't work then it's an engine problem

    Ho and i did unplug the Tube so the air thing could breath properly ... but i could still blow air true it so pressure switch is ok as far as i know
    I did check the board it's ok nothing is burned there
    and i check if the engine was manually turning it's fine

    This is a Drolet mystery ... and the shop owner were it was sold was clueless no that he was ever any help in the past

    The only thing i could point out when i start it and i put my hand on it... the engine it's hot
    very weird that it stop and was running perfectly ... just after the clean up and i did as they say the thing was unplugged the entire time

    it's a big disappointment placing 1500 $ on something and it's not even working past 3 years ....
  11. FyreBug

    FyreBug Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    771
    Loc:
    Kitchener, Ontario
    Sending you an email...
  12. FyreBug

    FyreBug Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    771
    Loc:
    Kitchener, Ontario
    If the Pressure switch is electrically bypassed and it still gives you a P code then its not the blower.

    Since this occurred after a cleaning it leads me to believe a wire was damaged, frayed or unplugged. I sent you an email regarding this but for others who may want to know...

    1) follow the electrical leads from the P switch back to the board. Ensure none are damaged or frayed.
    2) Ensure the connector on the board is making good contact. Push it all the way in.
    3) Take an Ohmmeter and unplug the connector from the board and take a reading of the wires to ensure you do not have an open or a short somewhere.
    4) It could be the board but this would be highly unusual.
  13. Jason

    Jason New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    51
    Loc:
    Tracadie-Sheila, New-brunswick
    Last monday morning i had the same error code P. I did check the pressure switch hose and it was free email sbi and they told me to bypass the combex motor with 110v. I did that and the motor is not working. Only making a huming noise. Waiting for my new motor for 300$.
  14. Luc

    Luc New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Loc:
    Edmundston
    Alright ... i removed the engine ... the entire thing was jammed whit dust !!!
    now it's turning very good !

    but after 5 min i got a code ( P ) again i'll see if i can bypass that pressure switch
  15. Luc

    Luc New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Loc:
    Edmundston
    pressure switch by pass pellet stove working fine ... need to seal the join whit a special paste to stop it from smoking inside
    but it's looking ok
  16. FyreBug

    FyreBug Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    771
    Loc:
    Kitchener, Ontario
    Glad it's working for you...

    BTW Edmunston is a great little town! There's this little restaurant downtown. Dont know if its still there but a few years ago the owner was Greek and really crabby every time I was there. But man could he cook!
  17. Luc

    Luc New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Loc:
    Edmundston
    No it's now closed due to a fire in the Laundromat next to it

    i gave it a try but the pressure switch is not there for nothing not enough pressure mean smoke inside
    i still need to apply that paste this week end then i guess it should work
  18. stoveguy13

    stoveguy13 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Messages:
    985
    Loc:
    CT
    If I am following what you are saying the stove wont run without the switch bypassed? and with it bypassed it is smokey? If so the stove is still dirty.
  19. Coyote_nb_ca

    Coyote_nb_ca New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2012
    Messages:
    53
    Loc:
    Carlingford NB Canada
    lookslike we neet to mak a NB-Pelletstove-Owen BBQ

    :);)
  20. Don2222

    Don2222 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    6,549
    Loc:
    Salem NH
    Hello

    Sounds like the stove needs some air. Like a good blast with a 200 PSI compressor?

    Attached Files:

    Luc likes this.
  21. Luc

    Luc New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Loc:
    Edmundston
    yeah that is my next step ... compressor + air + dust all over :eek:

    look like my stove cement help a great deal the pressure switch is ok now
    it's still smoking a little i might have miss a spot ... no big deal i'll find it

    now i have another problem my stove wont start the liter is cherry red bu it wont start ... it might be the pellets
    i'll do a good clean up and see if there is any difference

    i'll get it fix i hope before the winter lol
  22. Luc

    Luc New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Loc:
    Edmundston
    all cleaned up whit a air blower
    pressure switch on and working
    pellets are dropping freely in the basket
    igniter goes red

    then i get error code ( L )

    Stove Feeds pellets, But will not ignite and ( L ) appears on the control board


    Possible Causes: Possible Remedies:
    1. Air damper open too far for ignition. Turn the air supply knob toward the minimum setting for startup. In
    some situations, it may be necessary to have the damper completely
    closed for ignition to take place. After there is a flame, the damper
    can then be adjusted for the desired feed setting.

    2. Blockage in igniter tube or inlet for igniter tube. Remove the burn pot and clean it thoroughly. Make sure that all
    openings are clear. Find the igniter tube coming out of the burn pot
    housing. It is a small tube located on the back of the burn pot
    housing. Make sure it is clear. Make sure there is not any debris
    around the igniter element or inside the igniter tube.

    3. Bad igniter element. Put power directly to the igniter element. Watch the tip of the igniter
    from the front of the stove. After about 2 minutes, the tip should
    glow. If it does not, the element is bad. You may need a technician
    to perform this test.

    4. The thermistor heat sensor has malfunctioned. The thermistor is a heat sensor located on the exhaust housing. Its
    function is to tell the control board that the unit has ignited properly
    by measuring the heat in the exhaust. The pellet stove will not start
    feeding pellets at the desired heat setting until it has received a
    signal from the thermistor heat sensor. If the thermistor heat sensor
    is bad, the unit will stop after the ignition cycle. If this situation
    occurs, call your dealer or technician.

    5. The control board is not sending power to the igniter. Check the voltage going to the igniter during startup. It should be a
    full current. If the voltage is lower than full current, check the wiring.
    If the wiring checks out good, the board is bad. You will need a
    technician to perform this test.

    lol tomorrow is another day ...
  23. MountainSean

    MountainSean Credo Quia Absurdum

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    248
    Loc:
    NW Montana
    Check that igniter gasket too. If it is worn or gone that would let too much air bypass around the pot instead of through it.
  24. FyreBug

    FyreBug Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    771
    Loc:
    Kitchener, Ontario
    If your igniter goes red then it's not the igniter. As MountainSean said put a couple of gasket in the burn pot round hole at the back.
    Is smoke coming out of the pellets?

Share This Page