Duct Work for my EKO25

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

RDabate

Sep 14, 2008
Ellington, CT
Hi Guys,

This is my first year using my EKO. When I peek in the Duct Work, I see a lot of crap (yeah, technical term)

First,
Is this much crap normal. So far I've burned about 5 cords.

Second,
How often should I be cleaning the duct and the chimney?

I bought a Chimney brush (sweep, not sure what there called?)with some extending poles, but the way my duct work is installed, there no way the pole will bend enough for me to insert it.

I'm typing this while at work and forgot to email the pictures to my work address. I'll post some picture tonight of how the duct work looks.

Thanks.

I have a Tee on the back of my EKO, and I have been cleaning flyash out of this tee about once a month. The first couple of times I took the whole thing apart including the hx tubes, turbulator, etc. But since there was no significant buildup in the hx I now just use a long extension on the shop vac wand and push it through the bypass damper into the tee. this removes most of the flyash. I have seen no buildup in the chimney beyond this point.

I will brush out the whole chimney, along with my woodstove chimney, clean the caps, clean out the fireboxes, etc at the same time in preparation for summer.
As long as you are burning quality dry wood there shouldn't be any issues with your chimney other than the flyash.