Ducting heat from basement installed stove

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

corkyscott

Aug 19, 2009
Central Vermont
Hi folks, I'm a newbie to this forum, but not a newbie to heating with a wood stove. My question concerns; what is the best material to use to wrap an enclosure around a wood stove such as to duct the heat to various parts of the upstairs.

Here's the background. My wife and I have lived in central Vermont for more than 34 years. We built a small kit log home and have heated it entirely by wood stove for the first 10 years or so, then installed an LP furnace with radiant floor heating. We kept the wood stove because the power in our area is subject to periodic outages, some of which can last for days.