Ductless heat pump, which is a better unit?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Amaralluis

Dec 14, 2005
I got two guys coming to my place this morning to get me a quote.
Price is pretty much the same so no real competition there. :(

They sell two different brands. One is Daikin and the other is Elite.
Because I am new to this I cant decide which one is a better unit.
I have a single floor approx 1350SQFt open concept. Really open concept, imagine a box with three walls to create the divisions and the hallway in the middle. That simple.

I need your expert opinion on which one is the best unit overall between these two:

Elite

For the Elite the guy sugested their 12K unit, but Im leaning towards the 18K. Somehow I think 15000Btus is not nearly enough to keep the house warm.
and

Daikin

I appreciate all the input.
Thanks

I think either unit is fine. The 'Elite' has a 5% lower HSPF, so theoretically it might cost 5% more to run per BTU, but if it were a lot cheaper than the other (on a nom BTU basis) then it might be a good pick.