dump zone suggestions please!

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

pybyr

Minister of Fire
Jun 3, 2008
Adamant, VT 05640
hello all--

I'm studying up and planning the rest of my gasifier + storage install, and am aiming to do most of it without cutting any corners if possible.

initially, it's going to be an Econoburn 150 + some storage (1000+/- gallons) that will heat the house by way of a heat exchanger coil in the ductwork above my warm-air oil burner; radiant may come in later years.

I "get" the purpose and importance of a "dump zone" and the use of an "automag" type valve to allow the boiler to have a safe place to send heat if power suddenly goes out in the midst of a burn. but with my contemplated initial system, where there won't be any hydronic zones upstairs from the boiler during the first season(s) of use, I will need to build some sort of interim or permanent set-up to deal with the potential need to dump heat upon sudden power failure