Dutchwest Small Non-Cat Model 2477 - Help Please

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

BoontonBurner

Jul 9, 2015
New Jersey
Hello all,

My name is Mike and I am a somewhat new wood burner from NJ and have been very successful heating a 1500 sq. ft. 1890's colonial home with the DW Small Model 2477, which is a Non-Cat type. I have been burning for 3 years. I burn from the beginning of November until the end of April every year. My 24 hour burns begin at the beginning of December and end the end of March. I am burning red and white oak that has been seasoned for 1 year or more.

Every year I have had issues with my stove. I will just list the issues to make them shorter. I just need some advice as far as what to do so I don't have to start spending a ton of money fixing this stove.

1. 2012-2013 First year after burning, fountain assembly released so many chips into the firebox that when I took it out, there were giant burn holes in the fountain assembly. Vermont Castings sent me a new fountain assembly and right side refractory (cracked).