earth stove t-100 help

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

trimmer15

Oct 22, 2015
michigan
Hello im new to the page. I'm a tree trimmer by trade so i have an unlimited supply if wood and i just bought my first home. it came with a earth stove. I grew up with a fire place insert and a wood stove so i have a firm grasp I how they work, however I'm having trouble gettkng this stove hot and i can find little to no info on it. The problem is, loaded with the door closed it is nearly impossible to get the thermometer above 200 degrees but with the door cracked 350 is no problem. Does anybody have any information on efficiency or btu output? Any suggestions on why i am having problem getting it hot with the door closed?

- no ash tray
-draft control is above the flame

Heres pictures of the stove

Attachments

• 20151023_192212.jpg
    20151023_192212.jpg
    110.8 KB · Views: 412
  • 20151023_192247.jpg
    20151023_192247.jpg
    95.4 KB · Views: 618
Welcome. Have you tested the wood for moisture content? The secret to a hot burn is dry wood. That means fully seasoned to the core. For dense hardwoods like oak and hickory that means 2 years of seasoning after splitting and stacking.

I burn standing dead ash that i cut down over the summer. i doint have a moisture tester but it shouldnt be an issue with dead ash thats been in my garage out of the elements for a few weeks right?