EBW200 or 300 with storage?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

robcblair

Hearth Supporter
I am new to this woodburning stuff and I am trying to decide whether to suggest a 200 or a 300 boiler. Rough heat loss is around 200K but lots of unknowns. Figuring on doing 1500+ gallons storage with either size. Concerned about length of burn times along with storage. Would the 300 burn too fast and have to be feeding more often? Would the 200 work well with extra storage to cover the really cold days? Four (4) different buildings, all with supplemental heat of some kind.

Thanks,

Rob Blair

Hi Rob; You want the burn times in a gasser with storage to be as short as possible. Your tanks will store the heat. The longer the wood stays in the chamber the more chance the combustion products have to eat on the boiler plates. I have heard others on this forum say that most of the gas release & burning is done in the first hour with a proper setup & then the coals will heat for awhile yet. I hope my Atmos will burn a full load of wood in about an hour(at least down to coals). Sorry I can't answer your specific Econoburn questions, Randy

Singed Eyebrows said: