1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Echo choice cab50 thermostat

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by Jarhead1229, Oct 11, 2012.

  1. nikeseer

    nikeseer Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    234
    Loc:
    Central Connecticut
    Hi again, I've just read a little up on this thermostat. Just to make sure what is the swing on this one? Reading the spec sheet looks to be up to 9. Not sure if that is correct.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. nikeseer

    nikeseer Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    234
    Loc:
    Central Connecticut
    Where do you have your thermostat in relation to your stove?
  3. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,531
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Swing on the Lux uints is in 0.25::F increments so the 9 is actually +/- 2.25 ::Fwhich is fine.
  4. nikeseer

    nikeseer Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    234
    Loc:
    Central Connecticut
  5. nikeseer

    nikeseer Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    234
    Loc:
    Central Connecticut
    What is your anticipator set at? Mine shuts off then doesn't start up till I turn it up to call for heat. Drops more than 6 degrees and still doesn't turn on.
  6. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,531
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
  7. saladdin

    saladdin Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    340
    Loc:
    West Tennessee
    My Lux that came with the cab50 would do worse. I swear there would be a 10 degree drop before kicking on. That's why (and wanted programmable one) I got rid of the Lux mechanical that came with my stove.
  8. saladdin

    saladdin Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    340
    Loc:
    West Tennessee
    Up to 9 at .25 increments. I set mine originally to 9 but it made me crazy with the temp set to 70 and the actual temp 68 and the stove not coming on because it had to drop that extra .25 degree before kicking on. I moved it to 8 for my sanity. Nice even number.
  9. nikeseer

    nikeseer Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    234
    Loc:
    Central Connecticut
    We have managed to get it tweaked to keep the house at 71 at night and warmer during the day. I've been actingas the swing but let it run for today. Ordered a digital programmable by lux with adjustable swing on Friday. Before I got your response on the anticaptor. So far so good. I'll keep you posted on the new thermostat once installed. Thanks for the help to you and everyone ... great help and advise. How many bags have you used with your cab50 this year so far?
  10. nikeseer

    nikeseer Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    234
    Loc:
    Central Connecticut
    LOL. I hear you. So your tstat goes on at 68 and off at 72 on number 8? Mine has been shipped. Waiting desperately to help conserve fuel better. Thank you!!!!
  11. saladdin

    saladdin Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    340
    Loc:
    West Tennessee
    This is what it does on 8.

    Say your room is actually 70 without any heat and you set the thermostat to 70 with swing of 8 (2 degrees). When room gets to 68 the pellets start a dropping. When room gets to 72 pellets go by-by.

    You'll have to find your sweet spot.

    My problem with the original mechanical stat was the swing felt like 10 degrees. I would always have to slide it up to click the stove on because I was already cold and the stove handn't fired up.

    Also I couldn't guarantee the house warm for when I get up (0415). Now by stat is set to come on at 0400 and I get showered and dressed in front of the stove because it is going in that 15 minutes.

    It is set to 55 when my gf leaves for work so it doesn't kick on with no one there.
  12. nikeseer

    nikeseer Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    234
    Loc:
    Central Connecticut
    Thank you.. You are a huge help! I can't wait to get my new one. I work from home and need to keep the house at a steady temperature but would not like to have the stove running 24/7 if I can help it to preserve my fuel. I don't want to burn thru it too fast. Cycling a little rather than not at all will be a big help!
  13. nikeseer

    nikeseer Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    234
    Loc:
    Central Connecticut
    Now I'm confused with the thermostat. I have it set at 74. 2 degree swing. It shut off at 74. I also adjusted the temp and when I did this it shows temps starting in the 60's. Confused. This is with the lux tx1500e. Help! Do I need to do a reset after I connect the wires or before or it won't matter. I don't mean to sound dumb but very overwelmed by this thermostat. Where is yours again? Thinking of moving mine and seeing if that will make a difference. Uninstalled the lux tx1500e because it would not keep my stove running even at 90. And this happened at 1230am. Not a fun night.
  14. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    Is the Swing setting at 2?

    If so, on a Lux that means .5° (1/2°). So the temp wont hardly change the room temp and its gonna cycle like MAD!!

    Put the Swing adjustment to 8 or 9. This will give you a couple degrees. Each setting is only a 1/4°

    So at 73.5° it wants to kick on and at 74.5° it wants to shut down

    Quads and Heatilators need proper time to cool the thermocouple before refiring. Without enough time, the stove may see 200° and keep feeding pellets after the initial start up feed. Which leads to an overfire situation.
  15. nikeseer

    nikeseer Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    234
    Loc:
    Central Connecticut
    Nope.. The swing was set to 8. So I expected it to start at 72 and run to 76 with a 74 setting. It stopped at 74 and it didn't start without uping the thermostat temp. And this was all from a cold start.
  16. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,531
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    There are other settings on those stats that can fake you out. There are settings that pertain to the type of device the stat is hooked to this tells the stat to make certain adjustments to the settings it uses internally.
  17. nikeseer

    nikeseer Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    234
    Loc:
    Central Connecticut
    I bought this one the (lux tx1500e) specifically because of the swing adjustment. It shows the current temp. When you press the up or down it shows temps in the 60's. Not sure what this is about.
  18. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    Does it show current temp and room temp when touched?

    Or room temp and current temp when touched?

    My Hunter only shows the Room temp. You have to go in to see what the set temp is, or to change the setpoints.
  19. nikeseer

    nikeseer Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    234
    Loc:
    Central Connecticut
    It shows the room temp.. Push up or down errors and shows what I believe to be the set temp which is not what I set it at. That's the 60's I mention. Very frustrating. I wanted this because of the big swing. I don't want to get another one that only has a 1 degree swing. Trying to preserve the igniter being overused. I heard that can go fairly quickly.
  20. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,531
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    First off you have to set each programmable time slot on that t-stat to some set point other than the default which is 68 IIRC (unless that is the one you want for that time period) the set point can be different for each one. Depending upon the t-stat that can be quite a few settings.

    Then the t-stat is placed in run mode.

    Frequently these stats also need to know what kind of device they are controlling to prevent over or undershooting of the set point +/- swing. I haven't downloaded the instructions for your t-stat, I'm just flying by what I remember of several t-stats in the LUX line, including my t-stat which is a LUX and the many others I've had attached to various heating systems over the decades.
  21. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    The 1500 is a programmable stat. Smokey is correct about the stat going to a set temp every so many hours.

    You must either program the stat for all days and time slots, or put it into a manual/override mode.

    (Because of the time needed for the thermocouple to cool properly/under 200°/ dont use more than a 2° setback or step up, for nighttime/sleeping or daytime/working hours. This would still give the room 2° to cool and give the stove the needed time to cool. Assuming you have a 4° swing (setting of 8 / 2° both ways).
  22. nikeseer

    nikeseer Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    234
    Loc:
    Central Connecticut
    Happy belated Turkey Day to all! Thank you soo much for the info. I set all the programs. Can not figure out how to override and leave it at a set temperature. I set all programs to the same temp. The temp calibration on this tstat is a total pain. It does not match any of the thermometers I have in the house in several different rooms. I have adjusted minus and postive and left it and it doesn't match. Says 77 on the thermostat and the thermometer exactly next to it says 74. I have the swing set to 8 so it goes on at 72 actually 73 I've noticed and off at 76 with a setting of 74. With that my house is usually 70-71. They way it is cycling my house ist at 68 and even in the room the stove is in it isn't reading correctly. I've noticed I can't adjust the temperature when it is off. Only in heat mode and if the temp is where it will kick on then I have to wait it out. Very annoying. Any suggestions on a basic digital thermostat that I can adjust while in an off mode or not. Will the 1 degree swing help with the cool down etc? I got this one for the 2 degree swing in either direction. I just want my house at a steady temp. It also cycles off for only 35 min and kicks back on again. I'm unable to always get up from my job to be the swing all the time. Thank you and I'm sorry I'm being such a pain. Thank you all again. ;em
  23. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    Skytech remote stats work well...

    I also have a Hunter that I can manually overide (Temporary or Permanent).

    There are MANY Luv owners here that should be able to help.

    Why not start a thread with your Problems? I'm sure they will get you figured out :)
  24. nikeseer

    nikeseer Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    234
    Loc:
    Central Connecticut
    I think I will. Thank you. You guys have been great!
  25. DenisB

    DenisB New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    Loc:
    Moonbeam, Ontario, Canada
    My cab50 will cycle less on cold days and with shorter periods between cycles. January has been pretty chilly with nights of -35 and -40. Hardly any clinkers in ash pan....maybe 2 cups since it was installed 3 weeks ago. Is this normal?

Share This Page