Q&A Economical chimney for garage

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

QandA

Staff member
Nov 27, 2012
Question:

I'm a laid off road builder who enjoys my winter time off; tinkering and doing winter projects in my garage. Spent several winters with my old top feed belly pot we shared a lot of cords of wood,along with to much sheet metal and pop rivets..she had her day. Last spring re-roofed house and garage and to my dismay, her and her stove pipe were the last to be loaded on the ten yard dumpster. A couple years prior I purchased a used insert (like new) and was thinking of installing it in the garage. It's quite nice cannot see a brand name, glass doors, screen, baffle and blower in unit with a bottom face return for cold air. I am handing at most things but here comes my questions? I would like to cut whole in garage and am capable of pouring outdoor slab to place it on. That would save me space and avoid cutting hole in my new roof for stack; also avoiding the high cost 600-750 $ for the metal parts I have been quoted. I guess my question comes to this.....How do I build the fire place and stack off and around it? What would be economical but safe? And how far should the chimney clear off the side of my garage (standard two car garage 4-12 roof)?

Answer:

I worked for a long time for a prominent wood stove, insert, and fireplace manufacturer. Over the years, I've discussed this same issue with folks from all over the world. It's a very gray area that you're treading upon.