Ecoteck Firex replacement

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

jwinn001

Jan 11, 2014
Western Massachusetts
IMG_2147.JPG Hello , I’m new to the form and have a Ecoteck Francesca. The Firex is starting to look a little ragged and I anticipate having to replace it before next winter. My question is have any of the Ecoteck owners on the Form replaced the Firex and if so how difficult or easy was it.

Last edited:
Lake girl seems to know how to do a complete tare down of Ecotecks. Been very active here so will probably chime in soon. She has 2 Elenas.

Welcome to the forum... We like pics of stoves!
How old is the stove? Has the Firex ever been removed ie cleaning combustion chamber? Screws on two metal strips at front of fire box have 3 metric screws each (can't remember the head - Edit: T10 and T15 with my stove tools). Two of these stripped on ours (carefully drilled out), along with a lot of the other screws in various spots. I went on a mission and bought all new stainless screws with a Phillips head to replace. Screw size that works is 4mm x 6mm for the strips and 5mm x 10mm for the others on the body (Menards). The center back is held by a bolt and plate - metric 8 - same as inspection ports. Remove screws, metal strips, bolt and plate. Sides come out first - one at a time gently pull top toward center when you can pull up slightly to clear metal tabs, remove. Lots of ash collects back there.

I've been wondering on the lifespan as well but no guidelines in the manual and old distributor no longer in business.

Last edited: