EDPM Liner and stratification

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Duetech

Minister of Fire
Sep 15, 2008
S/W MI
Hey Boiler room!
I am new to the storage tank end of boilers and have only had a boiler for two seasons and it sure beats propane dhw and fuel oil heat. Edpm sounds like the liner to have as I am restricted to an open storage tank that will be dyi. Estimated 5'h/5.5-6'dia. Due to height restrictions in my basement (old MI home) the tank will sit 2' deep on a poured slab so only 3' will extend up into the basement area. Any how, where does a person find this edpm liner that is being referred to?
Another question I have is about stratification. Since my tank is non pressurized "Is stratification important to me?" My single coil plan is heat the side arm dhw then my water/ air heatx. then pass on through to supply my storage tank unless I should heat my storage tank first(?). I will have ball valves and a by-pass to manually control water going to my storage tank if the tanks is first in the system to control initial start up but eventually it will be a straight shot into the tank. I have a circ-pump on manual that runs 24-7 and I figured if the tank is last in the system that it would charge whenever there is no call for heat if the tank is last in the circuit before going back to the boiler.