Eko 40 gassin but no heat

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Fishman, I'm no expert but I put my EKO 40 in last fall (no storage) self install. I burn mostly crap wood and I have had very few problems. I wish I could help you. I have to believe something in the system is not right, if I talked to you it is much easier for me to help. I am a very slow typer.

A few questions I would ask and please bear with me if some of the question seem simple.

Is all the air out of the system?

Is the bypass valve working? Just the whole plumbing system in general.

Is the bypass damper fully closed?

What are your air settings? I have the primary open about 1/2". The secondary 3 and 1/2 turns. The fan damper is half open.

Is the ash cleaned out good in the back of the gasification chamber?

On the front of the fan there is a damper. It is adjustable by loosening the wing nut in the center and turning it.

I still think it's your wood, fishman. Standing deadwood isn't necessarily dry. Some really good suggestions over in the other thread.

Something's obviously wrong. Your EKO is not behaving the way it should. For whatever reason. I'm sure we can come up with a solution with enough information and brainstorming.

To set your primary air, are you taking the blower plate off (12 sheet metal screws) and setting the primary intakes? My 60 needs much more primary air than most people's, for some reason.

Eric Johnson said:
I still think it's your wood, fishman. Standing deadwood isn't necessarily dry. Some really good suggestions over in the other thread.